measuring journal quality and impactResearch support
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Psychology 

Last update: Nov 03rd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/psychology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles             Print Page
  

iResearch

iResearch research skills Database user guide:

Students

Search Smarter, Search Faster

iResearch is a series of learning objects designed to help you use the library and its resources, and improve your essay writing and research skills.

Off-Campus Access

All currently enrolled students and staff are entitled to off-campus access to the Library's licenced electronic resources.

 

Key Databases

 

Here are some of the key databases for Psychology. Click on More Databases for the complete list of psychology databases.

PsycINFO via OvidSP (1806-present)
The major database for Psychology produced by the American Psychological Association. It contains bibliographic references and abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and technical reports. Source material comes from a wide range of languages. Contains links to selected full text. Covers psychology: social, clinical, cognitive and neuropsychology; psychiatry, sociology, anthropology and education.

Counselling and Therapy in Video
A collection of videos for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counselling

PsycBOOKS via OvidSP
PsycBOOKS is a full-text database of books and chapters produced by the American Psychological Association.

PsycARTICLES via OvidSP
PsycARTICLES is a full-text database of journal articles produced by the American Psychological Association. From the search screen tick the PsycARTICLES limit box.

PsycCRITIQUES via OvidSP
PsycCRITIQUES is a full-text database of book reviews produced by the American Psychological Association. Films, software and other media are also reviewed.

Mental Measurements Yearbook
Contains full text information about and reviews of all english language standardized test. Covers educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology and related areas. Only one user permitted at a time so if you get a busy message please logoff and try again later. Be sure to click Logoff at the end of your session.

Web of Science
Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities citation indexes, useful for citation and subject searching for articles, books and reviews in psychology, mental health and related disciplines. Allows the identification of key articles in a discipline.

Scopus
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.

Medline (1950-present)
Medline is the major database for clinical medicine, it is produced by the National Library of Medicine, USA.

Biomed Central
Provides free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.

TVNews via Informit Online (September 2007 - present)
TVNews indexes Australian television news, current affairs programs, and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks and links to the video files. (Local nightly news programmes currently included are Melbourne broadcasts.)
Access problem? Delete your browser cookies and temporary internet files. (For Internet Explorer 7: Tools > Internet Options > Browsing History)
Provided access is restricted to University of Sydney staff and students, the material is used for educational purposes and the Copyright Part VA Warning Notice is displayed, possible uses of TVNews items include:

  • lecturers downloading a news items to a workstation and showing this in a class or tutorial
  • lecturers loading a number of news stories into a Learning Management System such as Blackboard or WebCT and making these available online to students
  • students viewing the items online or saving a copy on their workstation for later viewing

 

 

PsycInfo tutorials

View Online Tutorials for OvidSP

 

These clips run for approx. 2-4 minutes each.

      
     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait