Aboriginal EducationCreative ArtsDramaEnglishEnglish as a Second LanguageHuman Society and Its EnvironmentLanguagesMathematicsPersonal Development, Health and Physical EducationScienceTechnology and Applied Studies
BullyingChildren with Special NeedsChildren's LiteratureGifted and TalentedICTIndigenous students in the ClassroomLiteracy strategiesMentoringPolicy and Support DocumentsResource Rich, Time Poor?Supporting Refugee StudentsTeaching in NSW SchoolsTeaching Resources on the Web
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Curriculum  Tags: curriculum  

Support for preservice teaching students in the Faculty of Education and Social Work
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/curriculum  Print Guide  RSS Updates

English as a Second Language             Print Page
  

Ed Webs for ESL

Language Databases

There are many databases which are of use for ESL research. Don't forget the main list of Curriculum related databases!

 
 

Na Marni

Welcome to a guide to resources for teaching English as a Second Language in Primary, Secondary and Adult Education environments. Make the most of the resources available, and come to Curriculum to find teaching ideas to support your teaching!

 

Accessing articles

Locating material found in your search

Most articles will be available in full text. Some databases only provide you with references, abstracts and summaries of articles.  Follow up the references via the catalogue or with assistance from library staff.

Please make a time to discuss your research needs with the Liaison Librarian, Preservice and Curriculum Education. We can provide a time for tutorial on databases and ejournals, or advise regarding locating items not held in the University of Sydney Library. Please check out advice on accessing Document Delivery

 

Survival tips

Resources for teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language can be found in a range of number areas within the Curriculum Resources Collection. These resources include:

  • Books
  • Videos and Audio Tapes
  • CDs and DVDs
  • Databases

General call numbers

The general number areas for ESL are:

  • 428.24 (books)
  • 428.34 (tapes and kits)
  • 372.6 (language teaching)
  • 372.19 401 (grammar)
  • 410 (linguistics)

For information about teaching ESL programmes on New South Wales schools consult the numerous policy documents held in Curriculum Reference, on the policy document guide or through the NSW Board of Studies and the NSW Department of Education and Training. Some documentation may also be held in Fisher Reserve

 

Faculty Liaison Librarian

Profile ImageJacqueline Hicks
Contact Info:
Curriculum Resources Collection
(Office on Level 2)
Fisher Library F03
University of Sydney NSW 2006
Phone: +61 2 9351 6252
Send Email

Subjects:
Preservice and Curriculum Education

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait