Aboriginal EducationCreative ArtsDramaEnglishEnglish as a Second LanguageHuman Society and Its EnvironmentLanguagesMathematicsPersonal Development, Health and Physical EducationScienceTechnology and Applied Studies
BullyingChildren with Special NeedsChildren's LiteratureGifted and TalentedICTIndigenous students in the ClassroomLiteracy strategiesMentoringPolicy and Support DocumentsResource Rich, Time Poor?Supporting Refugee StudentsTeaching in NSW SchoolsTeaching Resources on the Web
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Curriculum  Tags: curriculum  

Support for preservice teaching students in the Faculty of Education and Social Work
Last update: Nov 18th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/curriculum  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Personal Development, Health and Physical Education             Print Page
  
 

Useful Web Sites

Useful web resources

An important reference site for all HSC matters is the HSC Online Homepage from Charles Sturt University, which has a separate page for PDHPE

Information about the new HSC syllabus documents can be found on the HSC Syllabus development documents page from the NSW Board of Studies.

Other sites include:

The New South Wales PDHPE Teachers Association
Australian Health Promoting Schools Association
Michigan Educator's Library Health, Fitness and Life Management

Teaching ideas and links

Links to interesting sites which may spice up a lesson

 

Welcome

Personal Development, Health and Physical Education

 

Resources in the Curriculum Resources Collection have been collected to support teaching for Personal Development, Health and Physical Education across the curriculum from Kindergarten to Year 12 as per the programme laid out in the syllabus documents. Staff in the Curriculum Resources Collection are available to assist with developing research skills and negotiating electronic resources.

 

 

Kindergarten to Year 6

Kindergarten to Year 6 (Stages 1-3)

This syllabus area encourages students to develop knowledge and essential understanding of participation in regular and varied physical activity, developing an understanding of the body and personal wellbeing. It addresses a wide range of personal and community health issues that require sensitive treatment, including drug education and child protection.

The Syllabus is divided into the strands listed below:

Skills Content
Communicating Active lifestyle
Decision making Dance
Interacting Games and sport
Moving Growth and Development
Problem solving Gymnastics
Interpersonal skills
Personal health choices
Safe living

 

Syllabus and support documents can be found at the following numbers

613 163B Personal development, health and physical education K-6: syllabus
613 163C Modules. These modules are organised from Early Stage 1 to Stage 3 and contain teaching notes, learning experiences and outcomes.
613 163D support document for students with special education needs

Teaching materials for all subject areas listed are to be found within the Curriculum collection. The Board of Studies site also hosts a list of teaching resources published by the board, and  full list of resources sold can be found on the web site's "Shop Online Site".

Useful Teaching Resources

796 59 Get skilled, get active : a K-6 resource to support the teaching of fundamental movement skills
371.909944 22 Special education handbook for schools. Publisher Sydney : N.S.W. Dept. of Education and Training
379.209944 1Special education policy, 1993
371.9046 38 Integration / inclusion feasibility study

Resources available from the NSW Dept of Education and Training

 

Years 7-10

Years 7 to 10 (Stages 4-5)

Syllabus and support documents for years 7 to 10 can be found at the following call numbers:

613.0712944 1 Syllabus

The syllabus is organised around three elements: processes, content strands and key ideas. Processes, content strands and key ideas flow from and form the basis for achieving the syllabus aims, objectives and outcomes. You can find teaching materials to support learning across all the syllabus areas within the Curriculum collection.

Process or "ways of doing" Content strand Key ideas
Communicating Active lifestyle drawn from the
Decision making Composition and performance content strand
Interacting Interpersonal relationships and designed to
Moving Growth and Development develop student
Problem solving Movement sense understanding
Planning Movement skill
Critical thinking Personal awareness
Performing Promoting health
Valuing Personal choice
Safe living
 

Years 11-12

Years 11-12 (Stage 6)

The syllabus documents for years 11 and 12 can be found at the following call numbers:
613.0712944 12 Personal development, health and physical education : stage 6 syllabus.
158.0712944 8 Community and family studies : stage 6 syllabus.
370.110994 14 Stage 6 special program of study [computer file] : Life skills courses and support materials / Board of Studies, New South Wales. Publisher [Sydney] : The Board, 2000.

The basic course structure is outlined below. Material supporting teaching in these areas is to be found throughout the collection.

Preliminary course

Core strands Options
Meanings of health and physical activity First aid
Better health for individuals Composition and performance
Body in motion Fitness choices
Outdoor recreation

HSC course

Core strands Options
Health priorities in Australia Health of young people
Factors affecting performance Sport and physical activity in Australian society
Sports medicine
Improving performance
Equity and health

Copies of the Syllabuses for every stage can be found in the Curriculum Resources Collection. One copy is kept in Curriculum Pol Docs, and other copies in the loan collection. 

 

 

Faculty Liaison Librarian

Profile ImageJacqueline Hicks
Contact Info:
Curriculum Resources Collection
(Office on Level 2)
Fisher Library F03
University of Sydney NSW 2006
Phone: +61 2 9351 6252
Send Email

Subjects:
Preservice and Curriculum Education

eResources from the Library

There are a range of electronic resources accessible from the catalogue, many of which are fantastic for sports physiology and coaching:

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait