What is a Database?
- A database stores information on a particular subject
- Databases may contain journal articles, conference proceedings, images, book chapters and more
- Databases are an efficient way of searching thousands of journals on your subject at once
- Databases are particularly useful if you need specific and up-to-date information
Finding Journal Articles on a Topic
If you're trying to find journal articles on a particular topic, use one of our databases.
Go to 'Databases by Subject', select an appropriate database, and do a keyword search for your topic. Watch this clip to find out more...
How Do I Find Journal Articles?
Need to find a peer reviewed article?
A peer reviewed journal contains articles that have been reviewed by experts before publication. [See the peer review process in action...]
Check Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to see if a journal has been peer reviewed.
Click on the eResources tab to see a list of peer reviewed orthoptics journals.
Search Engines
Search Google Scholar via the library website to get more full text access to journal articles.
Systematic Reviews!
Here are some Library resources outlining what a Systematic Review is and how to do a Systematic Review
- Systematic reviews [electronic resource] : CRD's guidance for undertaking reviews in health care. - Centre for Reviews and Dissemination.University of York, 2009.
ISBN/ISSN: 1900640473
"Systematic Reviews: CRD"s guidance for undertaking reviews in health care provides practical guidance for undertaking evidence synthesis based on a thorough understanding of systematic review methodology. It presents the core principles of systematic reviewing, and in complementary chapters, highlights issues that are specific to reviews of clinical tests, public health interventions, adverse effects, and economic evaluations. The final chapter discusses the incorporation of qualitative research in or alongside effectiveness reviews."--Website.
Cochrane handbook for systematic reviews of interventions [electronic resource]. - edited by Julian P.T. Higgins and Sally Green.
ISBN/ISSN: Cochrane Collaboration, c2008.
Systematic reviews in health care : a practical guide. - Paul Glasziou ... [et al.].CUP 2001.
ISBN/ISSN: 0521799627
Systematic reviews to support evidence-based medicine : how to review and apply findings of healthcare research. - Khalid Khan ... [et al.]. Royal Society of Medicine, Ltd., 2003
ISBN/ISSN: 185315525X (
Systematic reviews and meta-analysis. - Julia H. Littell, Jacqueline Corcoran, Vijayan Pillai.
ISBN/ISSN: 9780195326543
Systematic reviews in health care : meta-analysis in context. - ed by Matthias Egger et al.BMJ, 2001.
ISBN/ISSN: 072791488X
Key Databases
Start your research here!
- Medline A major and premier source for the medical sciences.
- ScienceDirect One of the largest online collections of published medical and scientific research
- Scopus Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and medical sciences.
- Web of Science One of the largest Science databases.Provides access to current and retrospective information from high impact research journals. Also provides citation analysis of authors, journals and subject are
- Google Scholar An academic version of the famous search engine. Also useful for links to references which cite other academic articles. Using this link via the Library website means you can get the full-text of articles in journals to which the Library subscribes
- More Databases...
Literature Reviews!
Not sure how to conduct a literature review?
Then check out the comprehensive guide produced by the Univeristy of Melbourne Library
http://www.lib.unimelb.edu.au/postgrad/litreview/home.html
or the following resources available at the library:
Conducting research literature reviews : from the Internet to paper. - Arlene Fink. SAGE, c2010.
ISBN/ISSN: 9781412971898
Preparing literature reviews : qualitative and quantitative approaches. - M. Ling Pan. Pyrczak Pub., c2008
ISBN/ISSN: 1884585760
The literature review : six steps to success. - Lawrence A. Machi, Brenda T. McEvoy.Corwin Press, c2009
ISBN/ISSN: 9781412961356
Health sciences literature review made easy : the matrix method. - Garrard, Judith. Jones and Bartlett, c2007
ISBN/ISSN: 0763740047
Critical Analysis of Journal Articles
A list of some library resources available on critical analysis of journal articles
How to read a paper : the basics of evidence-based medicine. - Trisha Greenhalgh. Blackwell Pub., 2006.
ISBN/ISSN: 9781405139762
Critical reading : making sense of papers in life sciences and medicine. - Ben Yudkin. NY : Routledge, c2006.
ISBN/ISSN: 0415344131
Users' guides to the medical literature : a manual for evidence-based clinical practice / the Evidence-Based Medicine Working Group. - editors, Gordon Guyatt ... [et al.].McGraw-Hill Medical, 2008.
ISBN/ISSN: 9780071590341
Studying a study and testing a test : how to read the medical evidence. - Riegelman, Richard K.Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, c2005.
ISBN/ISSN: 0781745764
Understanding clinical papers. - David Bowers, Allan House, David Owens.John Wiley & Sons, c2006.
ISBN/ISSN: 0470091304
Interpreting the medical literature. - Stephen H. Gehlbach.McGraw-Hill, Medical Pub. Division, c2006.
ISBN/ISSN: 0071437894
Studying a study and testing a test [electronic resource] : how to read the medical evidence. - Richard K. Riegelman.
ISBN/ISSN: 0781745764
Basic Search Tips
Never searched a database before? Here are some tips to get you started:
- Identify key concepts. e.g. 'type 2 diabetes' and 'prevention'.
- Brainstorm synonyms for each key concept. e.g. 'diabetes mellitus', 'prevent'.
- Use truncation to broaden your search. e.g. 'prevent*' will find 'prevent', 'preventing', 'prevention', 'preventative', 'prevented' etc.
- Use double quotation marks to narrow your search. e.g. "type 2 diabetes" will search for these words as a phrase rather than seperately.
- Combine synonyms with OR and key concepts with AND. e.g. ("type 2 diabetes" or "diabetes mellitus") and prevent*.
Watch this clip to find out more...
Need Help Searching Medline?
Need help looking up Databases?
You might like to attend one of our face-to-face classes or if you don't have time we have some short video tutorials or interactive Tutorials
- Face to Face Classes
- Medline Advanced Search: Introduction
(2mins:12sec)
Part 1 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Searching using MeSH
(2min:27sec)
Part 2 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Explode, Focus and Subheadings
(3mins:23sec)
Part 3 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Combining searches and limiting
(4 mins:08sec)
Part 4 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Searching Medline via OvidSP
Interactive Tutorial - Searching for Evidence Based Medicine
Interactive Tutorial








Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait