
Collection: Wellcome Images
B0005784 Credit Oliver Burston, Wellcome Images
Transparent female form running. The brain, lungs, heart, adrenal glands and liver are shown along with the long bones of the leg and the hamstring and quadriceps muscles.
Digital artwork/Computer graphic 2004
Copyrighted work available under Creative Commons by-nc-nd 2.0 UK
Looking for other images? Have a look at some Image Resources.
Key databases
This list of databases consists of some of the core databases that you will use when conducting Medical research.
- Medline via OvidSP (1950 - present)
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine´s premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the preclinical sciences, health administration, and the health care system. - CINAHL via EBSCOhost (1981 - present)
A major resource for allied health professionals and nurses. Includes some full text articles with coverage of allied health, management, behavioural sciences, biomedicine and education. - PEDro : The Physiotherapy Evidence DataBase A useful resource developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for q
- AMED : Allied and Complementary Medicine via OvidSP (1985 - present)
A useful specialised database of citations and abstracts for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians covering allied health and alternative treatments to conventional medicine. - SPORTDiscus via EBSCO
A major resource covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education and biomechanics. - Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
One of the largest Science databases. Provides access to current and retrospective information from high impact research journals. Web of Science also provides citation analysis of authors, journals and subject areas. - See Full list of Physiotherapy Databases
Basic Search Tips
Never searched a database before? Here are some tips to get you started:
- Identify key concepts. e.g. 'physiotherapy' and 'aged'
- Brainstorm synonyms for each key concept. e.g. 'physical therapy', 'elderly'
- Use truncation to get more results. e.g. 'elder*' will find 'elder', 'elders', 'elderly' etc
- Use double quotation marks to search for a phrase. e.g. "physical therapy"
- Use brackets to group like terms together e.g. ("physical therapy" OR "physiotherapy")
- Combine synonyms with OR and key concepts with AND e.g. ("physical therapy" OR "physiotherapy") AND (aged OR elder*)
Watch this short and funny clip to discover more.
Database News

The Cinahl database has moved from OvidSP to the EBSCO platform. Please contact your Faculty Liasion Librarian if you would like help using the EBSCO interface or watch this shot clip on using Cinahl via Ebsco.
Information Skills
Need help looking up Databases?
You might like to attend one of our face-to-face classes or if you don't have time we have some short video tutorials or interactive Tutorials
- Face to Face Classes
- Medline Advanced Search: Introduction
(2mins:12sec)
Part 1 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Searching using MeSH
(2min:27sec)
Part 2 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Explode, Focus and Subheadings
(3mins:23sec)
Part 3 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Combining searches and limiting
(4 mins:08sec)
Part 4 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Searching Medline via OvidSP
Interactive Tutorial - Searching for Evidence Based Medicine
Interactive Tutorial





Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait