Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Medical Radiation Sciences 

Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/medradsci  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles             Print Page
  
 

Basic Search Tips

Here are some tips to get you started:  

Watch this clip to find out more...

 

More tips for you:

  • Identify key concepts. e.g. 'type 2 diabetes' and 'prevention'.
  • Brainstorm synonyms for each key concept. e.g. 'diabetes mellitus', 'prevent'.
  • Use truncation to broaden your search. e.g. 'prevent*' will find 'prevent', 'preventing', 'prevention', 'preventative', 'prevented' etc.
  • Use double quotation marks to narrow your search. e.g. "type 2 diabetes" will search for these words as a phrase rather than seperately.
  • Combine synonyms with OR and key concepts with AND. e.g. ("type 2 diabetes" or "diabetes mellitus") and prevent*. 

 

 

Key Databases

Databases are a great way to find up to date, scholarly research. You will most often find journal articles in a database - but they might also include resources like conference papers, magazine or newspaper articles and book chapters.

Here are some of the key databases for Medical Radiation Science - or click on More Databases for a complete list.

How Do I Find Items on My Reading List?

If you're trying to track down a particular journal article - say one from your reading list - use the library catalogue. Watch this clip to find out more...

If you're trying to find journal articles on a particular subject, use one of our databases. Watch this clip to find out more... 

      
     

    Need Help Searching Medline?

    Medline has different features to other databases you may have used. Here are some short, interactive tutorials to introduce you to Medline:

    Search engines

    Follow this link to Google Scholar to make sure you get full text access to journal articles that the library subscribes to.

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait