eJournals
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Sexual Health 

Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/sexualhealth  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles             Print Page
  
 

What is a Database?

  • A database stores information on a particular subject
  • Databases may contain journal articles, conference proceedings, images, book chapters and more
  • Databases are an efficient way of searching thousands of journals on your subject at once
  • Databases are particularly useful if you need specific and up-to-date information
 

Finding Journal Articles on a Topic

If you're trying to find journal articles on a particular topic, use one of our databases

Go to 'Databases by Subject', select an appropriate database, and do a keyword search for your topic. Watch this clip to find out more...

Read the text version

 

Finding Specific Journal Articles

If you're trying to track down a particular journal article - say one from a list of references - use the library catalogue

Select 'Journal Title' from the drop-down menu and type in the title of the journal, not the title of the journal article! Watch this clip to find out more...

Read the text version

 

Need to find a peer reviewed article?

A peer reviewed journal contains articles that have been reviewed by experts before publication. [See the peer review process in action...]

Check Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to see if a journal has been peer reviewed.

Click on the eResources tab to access the ejournal subtab to see a list of peer reviewed sexual health journals.

Search Engines

Search Google Scholar via the library website to get more full text access to journal articles.

Citation databases

If you find a great article on your topic, you can use a citation database to track down related articles. These databases will show you the articles' reference list - and a list of who else has cited it since it was published.

 

Key Databases

Start your research here! 

  • Medline  
    A major and premier source for the medical sciences.

  • ScienceDirect  
    One of the largest online collections of published medical and scientific research
  • Scopus  
    Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and medical sciences.
  • Web of Science  
    One of the largest Science databases.Provides access to current and retrospective information from high impact research journals. Also provides citation analysis of authors, journals and subject are
  • Google Scholar  
    An academic version of the famous search engine. Also useful for links to references which cite other academic articles. Using this link via the Library website means you can get the full-text of articles in journals to which the Library subscribes
  • POPLINE:Your connection to the world's reproductive health literature  
      
    POPLINE®(POPulation information onLINE), the world's largest database on reproductive health, containing citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning.
  • More Databases...  
 

Literature Reviews!

Not sure how to conduct a literature review?

Then check out the comprehensive guide produced by the Univeristy of Melbourne Library

http://www.lib.unimelb.edu.au/postgrad/litreview/home.html

or the following resources available at the library:

 

Systematic Reviews!

Here are some Library resources outlining what a Systematic Review is and how to do a Systematic Review

 
 

Basic Search Tips

Never searched a database before? Here are some tips to get you started:

  • Identify key concepts. e.g. 'type 2 diabetes' and 'prevention'.
  • Brainstorm synonyms for each key concept. e.g. 'diabetes mellitus', 'prevent'.
  • Use truncation to broaden your search. e.g. 'prevent*' will find 'prevent', 'preventing', 'prevention', 'preventative', 'prevented' etc.
  • Use double quotation marks to narrow your search. e.g. "type 2 diabetes" will search for these words as a phrase rather than seperately.
  • Combine synonyms with OR and key concepts with AND. e.g. ("type 2 diabetes" or "diabetes mellitus") and prevent*. 

Watch this clip to find out more...

 

Need Help Searching Medline?

Need help looking up Databases?

You might like to attend one of our face-to-face classes or if you don't have time we have some short video tutorials or interactive Tutorials

Newspapers and Media

 

Publish Your Research

For tips on how to get your research published, check out the following books

Not sure which journal to publish in? Discover journal Impact Factors in Journal Citation Reports or compare the output of journals in Scopus using the Analytics tool. 

Boost your h-index by publishing your research in the Sydney eScholarship Repository (items are indexed in both Google and Google Scholar). 

Hot off the Press !

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait