Finding Specific Journal Articles
If you're trying to track down a particular journal article - say one from a list of references - use the library catalogue.
Select 'Journal Title' from the drop-down menu and type in the title of the journal, not the title of the journal article! Watch this clip to find out more...
Finding Journal Articles on a Topic
If you're trying to find journal articles on a particular topic, use one of our databases.
Go to 'Databases by Subject', select an appropriate database, and do a keyword search for your topic. Watch this clip to find out more...
Core Databases for the Health Sciences
Start your research here! (All databases can be accessed off-campus using your UniKey).
- MEDLINE
Keywords: Health, Medicine, Nursing, Health Administration, Health Care Systems, Health Policy - CINAHL
Keywords: Nursing, Allied Health, Health Administration - Scopus
Keywords: Medicine, Nursing, Health Professions, Citation Database - Web of Science
Keywords: Medicine, Public Health, Pharmacology, Psychology, Citation Database - PSYCInfo
Keywords: Psychology, Behavioural Health, Mental Health - AGELINE
Keywords: Ageing, Aged Care, Disability, Rehabilitation, Gerontology, Community Health - Sociological Abstracts
Keywords: Sociology, Behavioural Health - Health & Society Database
Keywords: Health Administration, Health Policy, Health Services - APAIS-Health
Keywords: Health and Law, Health and Society, Health and Economy, Health and Ethics - ATSIHealth
Keywords: Aboriginal Health, Torres Strait Islander Health - Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet
Keywords: Aboriginal Health, Torres Strait Islander Health - RURAL: Rural and Remote Health Database
Keywords: Rural Health, Remote Health, Health Workforce, Health Policy, Health Delivery, Health Services - PsycBITE
Keywords: Evidence Based Health, Psychology, Behavioural Health - Other useful databases...
Medline Search Tips
Medline has different features to other databases you may have used. Here are some short, interactive tutorials to introduce you to Medline:
- Medline Advanced Search: Introduction
(2mins:12sec)
Part 1 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Searching using MeSH
(2min:27sec)
Part 2 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Explode, Focus and Subheadings
(3mins:23sec)
Part 3 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Combining searches and limiting
(4 mins:08sec)
Part 4 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast
Search Engines
Search Google Scholar via the library website to get more full text access to journal articles.
- Google Scholar
The academic version of Google. - Scirus
A search engine focused on scientific information.
Basic Search Tips
Never searched a database before? Here are some tips to get you started:
- Identify key concepts. e.g. 'type 2 diabetes' and 'prevention'.
- Brainstorm synonyms for each key concept. e.g. 'diabetes mellitus', 'prevent'.
- Use truncation to broaden your search. e.g. 'prevent*' will find 'prevent', 'preventing', 'prevention', 'preventative', 'prevented' etc.
- Use double quotation marks to narrow your search. e.g. "type 2 diabetes" will search for these words as a phrase rather than seperately, thereby reducing the number of irrelevant hits.
- Combine synonyms with OR and key concepts with AND. e.g. ("type 2 diabetes" or "diabetes mellitus") and prevent*.
Watch this clip to find out more...









Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait