Information Skills
Need help looking up Databases?
You might like to attend one of our face-to-face classes or if you don't have time we have some short video tutorials or interactive Tutorials
- Face to Face Classes
- Medline Advanced Search: Introduction
(2mins:12sec)
Part 1 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Searching using MeSH
(2min:27sec)
Part 2 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Explode, Focus and Subheadings
(3mins:23sec)
Part 3 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Combining searches and limiting
(4 mins:08sec)
Part 4 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Searching Medline via OvidSP
Interactive Tutorial - Searching for Evidence Based Medicine
Interactive Tutorial
Databases on trial
Please review and feedback on these trial databases. Your feedback is very important to us in deciding whether to purchase a subscription or not.
SciFinder - Web Version
SciFinder- Web Version: things to know
Registration
Everybody must Register - UniKey is required - for a username and password. You will use this each time you access SciFinder. After completing the registration proecss you will receive a confirmation email containing a link. You must click this link to complete registration. Registration facilitates a number of features in the database such as Keep Me Posted Alerts and saving answer sets.
User Licenses
The University of Sydney Library currently has 8 user licenses. If all the licenses are in use you will receive a message stating: "SciFinder is unable to establish a session because all concurrent sessions for your campus are in use. Please try again later."
Off Campus Access
SciFinder web is available off-campus. You must link to the database from a library web page to be IP authenticated as a University of Sydney staff or student.
Key Databases
List of key Pharmacy databases via Library Homepage.
- ACCESSPharmacy via McGraw Hill (2007 - present) A comprehensive pharmacological and pharmacy resource which includes: Clinical Sciences; Social, Behavioral, and Administrative Pharmacy Sciences; Pharmaceutical Sciences and Basic Biomedical Sciences.
- AMH - Australian Medicines Handbook Authoritative educational resource of independent drug information for prescribing and dispensing
- AusDI Online (Australian drug information for the health care professional)
Handbook/Manual: Drugs, Pharmaceutical Care, Pharmacology and Nursing - British Pharmacopoeia
Pharmacopoeias -- Great Britain -- Periodicals. - ChemnetBase
A collection of electronic reference works including the Dictionary of Organic Compunds and the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics - Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews via OvidSP
Consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases produced by the Cochrane Collaboration. - Cochrane Library A reliable source of up-to-date information and evidence based studies designed to support decisions taken in health care.
- Drug Database (DRUG)
Bibliographic database that indexes articles from published and unpublished material on psychosocial aspects of substance abuse. - Embase.com (1966 - present)
Authoritative biomedical and pharmacological resource indexing 4000+ journals in the fields of Drug Research, Radiology and Nuclear Medicine, Pharmacology, Pharmacy, Pharmacoeconomics, Pharmaceutics and Toxiology. - eTG Complete, 2007 Provides clinical guidelines on analgesia, antibiotics, cardiovascular, respiratory, endocrinology, neurology, gastroenterology, dermatology, palliative care, psychotropics; and drug prescribing in pregnancy and breastfeeding.
- International Pharmaceutical Abstracts via OvidSP (1950 - present)
Covers clinical and technical drug information, pharmacy practice, legislation, pharmaceutical education, and legal aspects of pharmacy and drugs. - Medicines Complete (2006 - present)
Access to several major resources in pharmacy and pharmacology. - Meditext
Meditext is a full content online product linking articles from the 100+ journals contained in the Australasian Medical Index (AMI). - Medline via OvidSP (1950 - present)
Authoritative medical resource covering research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services. (See also PubMed) - MIMS Online
An authoritative and comprehensive pharmaceutical database. - PubMed Provides public access to Medline and additional resources.
- SciFinder Scholar (web version)
International chemistry journal articles, conferences, books, reports, patents within the Chemical Abstracts database; Chemical Abstracts from 1907, and Medline from 1966. Subject coverage includes chemical engineering, chemistry, biochemistry, pharmacy, pharmacology, agricultural chemistry, food science and medicine.
SciFinder - Web Version
SciFinder is an international database of journal articles, conferences, books, reports, patents within the Chemical Abstracts database; Chemical Abstracts from 1907, and Medline from 1966. Subject coverage includes chemical engineering, chemistry, biochemistry, pharmacy, pharmacology, agricultural chemistry, food science and medicine. Users can explore by chemical structure, reaction or by research topic, author, company, substance name and stay up to date on today's most recent scientific developments using a 'Keep me Posted" alert.
The CAS databases provide access to:
- More than 16 million single- and multi-step reactions, more than 1 billion predicted property values and more than 2 million experimental properties
- The CAS REGISTRYSM database - the original source and final authority for CAS Registry Numbers - updated daily
- All patent records, meeting CAS selection criteria, from 9 major patent offices are available online within 2 days of issuance
- Sequences combined from CAS and GenBank databases, which are indexed and linked to scientific journal and patent literature
Reference Resources
- AusDI Online (Australian drug information for the health care professional)
- Australian Immunisation Handbook
- Australian Injectable Drugs Handbook
- Harrison's Online
- Index Nominum, International Drug Directory
- Intravenous Medications: Handbook for Nurses & Allied Health Professionals
- Martindale
- Merck Manual
- Mosby's Nursing Consult
- Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook
Product of the Month
Featured Resource
Full-text news, commentary, pictures and media transcripts from Australian and overseas media sources.
Training Resources
SciFinder Web - Support & Training
These guides, in PDF format, offer quick overviews of SciFinder's basic functionality and are designed for the beginning user.
Learn about exploring research topics, as well as structure and reaction searching in the web version of SciFinder, via WebEx. Available as short recorded sessions.
Designed for the intermediate user, SciFinder Strategies help illustrate specific search strategies for:
- Small molecule searching
- Synthetic chemistry
- Polymer chemistry




Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait