e-books
A dictionary of epidemiology (E) - Lat, J.M.
ISBN/ISSN: 0195141695
A dictionary of statistics (E) - Upton, Graham J. G.
ISBN/ISSN: 0198614314
An introduction to medical statistics (E) - Bland, Martin.
ISBN/ISSN: 0192632698
Basic & clinical biostatistics (E) - Dawson, Beth.
ISBN/ISSN: 0071410171
Biostatistics for oral healthcare (E) - Jay S. Kim
ISBN/ISSN: 081382818X
Epidemiology for the uninitiated (E) - Coggon, D.
ISBN/ISSN: 0727911023
Evidence-based dentistry: an introduction (E) - Hackshaw A.K.
ISBN/ISSN: 1405124962
Medical epidemiology (E) - Greenberg, R.S.
ISBN/ISSN: 0071416374
Primer of biostatistics (E) - Glantz, Stanton A.
ISBN/ISSN: 0071435093
Statistics at square one (E) - Swinscow, T. D. V.
ISBN/ISSN: 0727909169
Databases for EBP
- All EBM Reviews
Cochrane DSR, ACP Journal Club, DARE, CCTR, CLEED, CLCMR, & CLHTA via OvidSP - Clinical Evidence Summarizes the current state of knowledge about the prevention and treatment of clinical conditions, based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature. It describes the best available evidence, and if there is no good evidence it says so.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews via OvidSP Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews on the effects of health care prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration.
- Medline via OvidSP Medline is the primary database for Dentistry.
Free databases for EBP
- EviDents Search Engine Free evidence-based dentistry search utility from The Forsyth Institute, Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry. Searches in PubMed.
- PubMed PubMed is the free version of Medline from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It includes some links to full text articles and other related resources.
- The Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more.
- Trip Database Simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and critically-appraised topics and articles. Also searches MEDLINE’s Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information leaflets.
Need help?
For assistance in locating EBD material, contact Lajos Bordas at the Dentistry Library on 9351 8330 or 0434 606 907 or l.bordas@library.usyd.edu.au
Main texts (print)
Biostatistics for oral healthcare
ISBN/ISSN: 081382818X
Dental statistics made easy
ISBN/ISSN: 1857756568
Evidence-based decision making: a translational guide for dental professionals.
ISBN/ISSN: 0781765331
Evidence-based dentistry: an introduction.
ISBN/ISSN: 1405124962
Evidence-based dentistry: managing information for better practice.
ISBN/ISSN: 1850971269
Manual of evidence-based research for the health sciences: implication for clinical dentistry
ISBN/ISSN: 1600218857
Statistical and methodological aspects of oral health research - edited by Emmanuel Lesaffre
ISBN/ISSN: 0470517921
Finding the best evidence - journal articles
The following EBD articles were pulished in the Journal of the Canadian Dental Association and are available free of charge
- Sutherland, SE 2001, 'Evidence-based dentistry: Part I. Getting started.' Journal of the Canadian Dental Association, vol. 67, no. 4, pp. 204-6.
- Sutherland, SE 2001, 'Evidence-based dentistry: Part II. Searching for answers to clinical questions: how to use MEDLINE', Journal of the Canadian Dental Association, vol. 67, no. 5, pp. 277-80.
- Sutherland, SE & Walker, S 2001, 'Evidence-based dentistry: Part III. Searching for answers to clinical questions: finding evidence on the Internet', Journal of the Canadian Dental Association, vol. 67, no. 6, pp. 320-3.
- Sutherland, SE 2001, 'Evidence-based dentistry: Part IV. Research design and levels of evidence', Journal of the Canadian Dental Association, vol. 67, no. 7, pp. 375-8.
- Sutherland, SE 2001, 'Evidence-based dentistry: Part V. Critical appraisal of the dental literature: papers about therapy', Journal of the Canadian Dental Association, vol. 67, no. 8, pp. 442-5.
- Sutherland, SE 2001, 'Evidence-based Dentistry: Part VI. Critical Appraisal of the Dental Literature: Papers About Diagnosis, Etiology and Prognosis', Journal of the Canadian Dental Association, vol. 67, no. 10, pp. 582-5.
Finding the best evidence - online tutorials
- EBM Tutorial: Finding the best available clinical evidence Interactive tutorial from The University of Sydney Medical Sciences Libraries
- Evidence-based Dentistry From the University of North Carolina Health Sciences Library
- Formulating Your Questions Using PICO Online video from the Cushing/Whitney Medical Library, Yale University
- Introduction to Evidence Based Practice Tutorial by Michael Draper from the University of Adelaide Library
- Using Cochrane Library Tutorial by Michael Draper from the University of Adelaide Library
- Using PubMed in EvidenceBased Dentistry Tutorial by Michael Draper from the University of Adelaide Library




Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait