Need help with systematic searching?
A systematic search seeks to locate all the evidence on a research question, using systematic methods. Here are a few tips to help you get started:
- Plan your search carefully
- Use a combination of index terms (e.g. MeSH) and text words
- Search a range of sources (e.g. databases, reference lists, contact with experts)
- Don't forget unpublished literature (e.g. theses, conference presentations, government reports)
- Document your search as you go - your methods should be transparent and reproducible
- Think carefully before applying limits to your search (e.g. publication date) - it may lead you to miss relevant literature
- Your Faculty Liaison Librarian is here to help!
Further guidance can be found on the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination website, and in Chapter 6 of the Cochrane Handbook.
Specialised databases
These specialised databases collect evidence of interest to specific health science disciplines. Studies are often rated for methodological quality to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability. See Finding Evidence for a full list of sources of evidence.
- OT Seeker Abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated.
- PEDro Abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality.
- speechBITE Citations and abstracts of interest to Speech Pathologists. Includes systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials, non-randomised controlled trials, case series, and single case experimental studies.
- PsycBITE A database of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment.
- Rehab+ Searchable database of recent journal article citations, with ratings of their relevance and importance by practicing occupational and physical therapists. You must register with the website to search the database.
EBP in the Health Sciences
Evidence Based Practice (EBP) describes the practice of making decisions about patients and treatments based upon up to date and reliable evidence. For healthcare practitioners, this consists of "producing evidence; making evidence available; [and] using evidence" (Gray 2001, p14).
Here are a selection of books on EBP in the Health Sciences Library - or search the catalogue for a full list.
Evidence-based healthcare and public health - Muir Gray
Call Number: 362.1068 172- Bringing evidence into everyday practice : practical strategies for healthcare professionals - Winnie Dunn
Call Number: 610 240
Evidence-based rehabilitation : a guide to practice - edited by Mary Law, Joy MacDermid.
Call Number: 617.03 21
Evidence-based practice for occupational therapists - Clare Taylor
Call Number: 615.8515 40
Guide to evidence-based physical therapy practice - Dianne V. Jewell
Call Number: 615.82 JEW- More
Handbook of evidence-based radiation oncology - [edited by] Eric K. Hansen, Mack Roach, III.
Call Number: 616.9940642 HAN
Evidence-based eye care - edited by Peter J. Kertes, T. Mark Johnson.
Call Number: 617.7 EVI
Evidence-based sports medicine - edited by Domhnall MacAuley and Thomas M. Best.
Call Number: 617.1027 EVI
The handbook for evidence-based practice in communication disorders - Christine A. Dollaghan.
Call Number: 616.855 DOL
What is a systematic review?
You may be asked to locate or appraise a systematic review on your research topic - or you may need to complete a systematic review of your own. The books below will give you an overview of systematic review methods:
Cochrane handbook for systematic reviews of interventions
Systematic reviews in the social sciences : a practical guide - Mark Petticrew and Helen Roberts
Call Number: 300.723 PET
Systematic reviews in health care : a practical guide - Paul Glasziou ... [et al.].
Call Number: 610.72 SYS
Methods of meta-analysis : correcting error and bias in research findings - John E. Hunter, Frank L. Schmidt.
Call Number: 300.72 HUN




Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait