Information Skills
Need help looking up Databases?
You might like to attend one of our face-to-face classes or if you don't have time we have some short video tutorials or interactive Tutorials
- Face to Face Classes
- Medline Advanced Search: Introduction
(2mins:12sec)
Part 1 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Searching using MeSH
(2min:27sec)
Part 2 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Explode, Focus and Subheadings
(3mins:23sec)
Part 3 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Combining searches and limiting
(4 mins:08sec)
Part 4 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Searching Medline via OvidSP
Interactive Tutorial - Searching for Evidence Based Medicine
Interactive Tutorial
Filtered Resources: Trip Database
- Trip Database Simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and critically-appraised topics and articles. Also searches MEDLINE’s Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information leaflets.
Filtered Resources: Systematic Reviews/Meta-Analyses
Filtered resources appraise the quality of studies and often make recommendations for practice.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews via OvidSP Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews on the effects of health care prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration.
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE) via OvidSP Contains critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of health and medical journals. Topics covered include diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment.
- The Cochrane Library
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Contains Cochrane reviews, DARE reviews, and clinical trials, as well as a number of other different publication types.
Filtered Resources: Critically Appraised Topics
Authors of critically-appraised topics evaluate and synthesize multiple research studies.
- Clinical Evidence Summarizes the current state of knowledge about the prevention and treatment of clinical conditions, based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature. It describes the best available evidence, and if there is no good evidence it says so.
- National Guidelines Clearinghouse
A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents produced by the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans. - JBI Connect Evidence summaries in the following areas: Aged Care, Acute Care, Midwifery, Physio, Occupational Therapy, Diagnostic Imaging, with Community Health coming soon.
Filtered Resources: Critically Appraised Individual Articles
Authors of critically-appraised individual articles evaluate and synopsize individual research studies.
- ACP Journal Club (1991 to present) This journal screens the top 100+ clinical journals and identify studies that are methodologically sound and clinically relevant. An enhanced abstract, with conclusions clearly stated, and a commentary are provided for each selected article.
- Bandolier An independent journal about evidence-based healthcare published in the UK. It includes “information about evidence of effectiveness (or lack of it), and put[s] the results forward as simple bullet points of those things that worked and those that did n
- EvidenceUpdates
Quality articles from over 150 clinical journals selected and rated for clinical relevance and interest by research staff and an international group of physicians. From the BMJ Publishing Group and McMaster University's Health Information Research Unit. - "Evidence-Based" Journal Series From the BMJ Group, the 'Evidence-based' series contain primary research articles within the discipline are selected for quality and clinical relevance. Includes titles such as Evidence-Based Medicine, and Evidence-based Dentistry.
Unfiltered Resources
Evidence is not always available via filtered resources. Searching the primary literature may be required. It is possible to use filters in MEDLINE and other databases to identify the level of evidence appropriate to the clinical question.
- Medline via OvidSP (1950 to present)
The U.S. National Library of Medicine´s premier bibliographic database covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the preclinical sciences, health administration, and the health care system. - PsycINFO via OvidSP (1806 to present)
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes literature from disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. - Cinahl via OvidSP (1982 to present)
The place to start for nursing and allied health research. A good place to search for qualitative research. - PubMed
Provides access to around 9 million records drawn primarily from the MEDLINE database and some citations to articles that are not indexed by Medline primarily some general science, general chemistry journals, and some life science journals.
Image

Collection: Wellcome Images
Nanette Hoogslag, Using the internet for health research
Digital artwork/Computer graphic 2004
Copyrighted work available under Creative Commons by-nc-nd 2.0 UK: England & Wales.
Looking for other images? Have a look at some Image Resources.
catalogue | databases & electronic resources | borrowing | libraries | subject guides | information skills | about | contacts
Copyright ©University of Sydney Library 2009



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait