Online tutorials

- Medline Advanced Search
2 minute tutorial on how to use Medline's Advanced search - Face to face classes Find a face to face class to help you with your research
- Embase cheatsheets, guides and demo searches New helpful guides and examples of how to search Embase
- Embase quick reference (PDF) More comprehensive guide to how to use Embase
- Searching Cinahl Great tutorial on how to search the new Cinahl interface. Watch the video or print the notes.
Key Databases
- Medline via OvidSP (1950 - present)
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the preclinical sciences, health administration, and the health care system. - Embase.com
A major pharmacological, biomedical and drug information database - the European equivalent of Medline. Contains a large number of full text articles from journals published worldwide. - Informit Online
Informit Online Contains over 80 Australian databases of scholarly research, covering a wide range of subjects. - Sociological Abstracts via CSA (1952 - present)
International literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. - Current Index to Statistics - CIS
CIS is the major indexing and abstracting database in statistics and probability. The material covered includes references to journal articles, books and edited books, conference proceedings and book and software reviews. - More Health Databases...
- More Statistics Databases...
Keeping up to date
- Setting up auto alerts in OvidSP
Learn how to save your searches and recieve auto alerts on new material fitting your search criteria. - Other alerting services
Learn more on how to set up Table of Contents (TOC) and saved search alerts on other databases.
Managing references

Once you've found your references you'll want an easy way to put them into your paper and store them. You can download a program called Endnote which will do that job for you...and it's free to Sydney University students and staff!
Here are some helpful tools for using Endnote:




Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait