Organizations
- Menzies Centre for Health Policy
A joint venture between The Australian National University and the University of Sydney. It aims to provide the Australian people with a better understanding of their health system and what it provides for them. - Australian Health Policy Institute
- Australian Department of Health and Aging
- NSW Department of Health
- Policy Hub ‘the first port of call for all concerned with policy making’ - from the website. Huge collection of resources and links.
- American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research - Health Policy Interesting collection of short publications and books on health policy.
- European Observatory on Health Systems and Policies Supports and promotes evidence-based health policy-making through analysis of system dynamics. Great collection of health system profiles.
Featured Resources
Doing Health Policy in Australia (2009) - Dugdale, Paul M.
Paul Dugdale's Doing health policy is a comprehensive analysis of Australia's health system in all its complexity.
Understanding health policy : a clinical approach (2009 ebook) - Thomas S. Bodenheimer, Kevin Grumbach.
Key Resources
- Understanding the Australian health care system (2009) Topics include: The public hospital system, Primary health care system, The private sector and health insurance, The health workforce, The Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme and more.
- The Oxford handbook of public policy (2006)
Written by edited by Michael Moran, Martin Rein and Robert E. Goodin. - Comparative health policy (2007)
Written by Robert H. Blank and Viola Burau. 2nd edn. - Evidence-based policy : a realist perspective (2006)
Written by Ray Pawson. - Economics and Australian health policy (1999)
Edited by Gavin Mooney and Richard Scotton. - Making health policy (2005)
Written by Kent Buse, Nick Mays and Gill Walt. - Health policy and federalism : a comparative perspective on multi-level governance (2002)
Edited by Keith G. Banting and Stan Corbett. - Health policy in a globalising world (2002)
Edited by Kelley Lee, Kent Buse, and Suzanne Fustukian.
Health Policy Research
Systematic reviews in the social sciences (2006) - Mark Petticrew and Helen Roberts
Great suggestions on conducting systematic health policy research from start to finish.
Web links to sources of social science information - Petticrew M and Roberts H
This material is basically the contents of chapter 4 of 'Systematic Reviews in the Social Sciences: A Practical Guide'
Non health databases
Health policy material can appear in many 'non health' databases as well as the main public health databases. Here are a few suggestions:






Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait