The Basics
- Atlas of the Human Brain - Mal (2008) 3rd ed.
- Encyclopedia of Neuroscience - Binder
(2008) - Neuroscience - Purves (2001) 2nd ed.
Online Resources
- Nerve - Virtual Encyclopedia US Society of Neuroscience.
- The Whole Brain Atlas - Harvard Medical School The Atlas is intended as an introduction to basic neuroanatomy, with emphasis on the pathoanatomy of several leading central nervous system diseases.
- The Electronic Atlas of the Developing Brain - A resource containing of a 3D digital atlas of the human brain and a gene expression database containing high resolution gene-expression data mapped onto the 3-D reconstructions contained in the Atlas.
- BrainMaps.org An interactive multiresolution next-generation brain atlas that is based on over 20 million megapixels of sub-micron resolution, annotated, scanned images of serial sections of both primate and non-primate brains.
- The Digital AnatomistProject Great atlas for students, includes identifications, pathways tests, 3D reconstructions, MR images, and tutorials.
- Sylvius Neuroanatomy Reference A visual glossary and atlas designed to facilitate the learning of human central nervous system anatomy.
Help us!
Do you know of any good resources that we could add to this page. If so please let us know!
Main Texts
Databases + Other Resources
- Entrez (Pubmed Databases)
- Web of Science
- images.MD This features more than 48,000 medical images, each accompanied by explanatory text. Register to create your own image library with personal notes.
- General Medical Databases
Images

Collection: Wellcome Images
Yirui Sun Astrocytes and oligodendrocytes from neural stem cells
Confocal micrograph 2006
Copyrighted work available under Creative Commons by-nc-nd 2.0 UK
Looking for other images? Have a look at some Image Resources.




Submit a Link



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait