Information for Staff and Researchers
This page has been designed as a quick reference tool for research staff in the medical sciences at the University of Sydney.
Please explore the other pages on this guide to see what resources are available in the world of the medical sciences.
Citation Analysis Tutorials
- Citation Analysis with the Web of Science #1: Introduction [3 min 10 sec] This is an introduction to the concept of citation analysis and the Web of Science as a citation tracking tool. From the Cushing Whitney Medical Library at Yale
- Citation Analysis with the Web of Science #2: Finding Citing Articles for a Known Article [5 min 57 sec] This video demonstrates how to use the "general search" interface to find citing articles for a known article. It also shows how to run some simple analyses on the citing articles. From the Cushing Whitney Medical Library at Yale.
- Citation Analysis with the Web of Science #3 Citation Analysis for a Known Author [5 min 19 sec]
This demonstrates how to use the "Author Finder" interface to find a known author, the articles that the author has published, and the articles that cite the author's articles. It also demonstrates the "Create Citation Report" feature of Web of Science. - Citation Analysis with Scopus - Cushing Whitney Medical Library, Yale University This tutorial teaches you how to use Scopus to do basic citation analysis of a particular article. It also compares the Web of Science and Scopus in terms of their citation analysis features.
- Web of Science Citation Report and H-index - Thomson Scientific [5 min 4 sec] Learn how to quickly create and export a report that details citation activity to an author's publications. Each Web of Science citation report includes a calculated h-index which is also discussed in this presentation.
- Web of Science Exporting and Using Citation Report Data - Thomson Scientific [7 min 46 sec] Use data exported from Citation Report to create charts and graphs in a spreadsheet program.
- Introduction to Essential Science Indicators - Thomson Scientific [6 min 07 sec] An introduction to data and rankings of highly cited authors, institutions, countries and journals.
- Journal Citation Reports Impact Factor - Thomson Scientific [7 min 35 sec] In this introductory session learn about the Impact Factor, how it's calculated, and how to find and rank a category of journals.
- Scopus tutorials from Scopus.com Learn how to use Scopus and all its features by viewing the online tutorials on this Scopus.com site.
Citation Information
Use the following resources to conduct citation analysis of papers, as well as to find out impact factor information for journals in your discipline.
- Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge It allows the identification of key articles in a discipline and to search by cited reference, that is to trace references that refer to a particular work or author. Also allows to find out how mmany times a paper has been cited.
- Scopus Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
- Journal Citation Reports via ISI Web of Knowledge Discover analytical information on journals such as impact factor and citation frequency
- Essential Science Indicators via ISI Web of Knowledge An analytical tool offering data for ranking scientists, institutions, countries, and journals.
Funding Opportunities
- Guidelines for the completion of research grant applications From the Universitty of Sydney, this site includes information for applying for NHMRC and ARC grants.
- More from the University of Sydney Research Office Information about obtaining funding, grant applications & management, and research scholarships from the Research Office.
- Search for Current Funding @ University of Sydney Researh Office
Sydney eScholarship
Sydney eScholarship - An initiative of the University of Sydney Library, Sydney eScholarship is a set of innovative services for the University of Sydney that integrates the management of digital content with new forms of access and scholarly publication.
Sydney eScholarship provides:
- eScholarship Repository - An Open Standards (DSpace) object repository service providing secure and citable archival storage and managed access to research associated with the University of Sydney.
Sydney eScholarship Repository Sydney Digital Theses - Providing digital archiving and access to Sydney University research theses. Over 300 theses are already in the collection and publicly available for reference.
Sydney Digital Theses
If you belong to a department and would like to set up a community to store your Discipline's research material, or if you are a PhD or Masters by Research candidate and would like to archive your thesis electronically, you can contact:
| Camperdown Campus Jeremy Cullis Medical Library Level 3 Bosch Building, D05 Western Avenue, Camperdown Campus University of Sydney NSW 2006 AUSTRALIA Phone: +61 02 9036 7678 Mobile: 0434 141 031 Fax: +61 02 9351 2427 Email: j.cullis@library.usyd.edu.au |
Cumberland Campus JohnPaul Cenzato Health Sciences Library Cumberland Campus, C42 East Street, Lidcombe University of Sydney NSW 2141 AUSTRALIA Phone: +61 2 9351 9431 Mobile: 0402 389 807 Fax: +61 2 9351 9421 Email JohnPaul: j.cenzato@library.usyd.edu.au |
Image

Collection: Wellcome Images
Wellcome Photo Library, Radioisotope laboratory
Copyrighted work available under Creative Commons by-nc-nd 2.0 UK: England & Wales.
Looking for other images? Have a look at some Image Resources.
Medical Sciences Honours Projects
Information for Honours students, including research projects, from the Disciplines within the School of Medical Sciences.





Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait