E-books
AnatomyBiochemistry & MicrobiologyGeneticsHistologyImmunology and Infectious DiseasesNeurosciencePathologyPharmacologyPhysiology
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Medical Sciences 

Library information and resources for staff and students in the Medical Sciences.
Last update: Nov 01st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/medsci  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Web Links             Print Page
  
 

Medical Sciences News from Medical News Today

Genetics, Immunology, Infectious Disease, Neuroscience and Stem Cell news from Medical News Today


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Genetics Databases

  • NCBI Entrez databases - the Life Sciences Search Engine  
    A cross database search engine, Entrez searches the main PubMed and PubMed Central databases, as well as sequence databases such as Nucleotide, Protein, and Genome. For a complete list see http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sites/gquery.
  • BLAST (Basic Local Alignment Search Tool)  
    BLAST from the NCBI finds regions of local similarity between sequences. The program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance of matches.
  • BRENDA  
    From the Technical University of Braunschweig, BRENDA is the main collection of enzyme functional data available to the scientific community.
  • GeneCards  
    A searchable, integrated database of human genes that provides concise genomic, proteomic, transcriptomic, genetic and functional information on all known and predicted human genes.
  • Nucleic Acid Database (NDB)  
    a searchable repository of three-dimensional structural information about nucleic acids.
  • OMIM Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man  
    OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes.

Information Skills

Links to NCBI Tutorials

  • NCBI BLAST Tutorial  
    This BLAST tutorial is designed to help both the novice and experienced BLAST user to set up and perform a BLAST search, decipher the output and analyze the results.
  • NCBI Entrez Tutorial  
    This tutorial is designed to show users how to make use of the full power of the Entrez data retrieval system. Using a human gene as an example, it demonstrates the variety of information that can be gathered for a single gene.
 
 

Image

Fragile X chromosome, atomic force microscope

 

Collection: Wellcome Images

Dr Ben Oostra, Fragile X chromosome, atomic force microscope

Atomic force micrograph1994 - 1998.

Copyrighted work available under Creative Commons by-nc-nd 2.0 UK

Looking for other images? Have a look at some Image Resources.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait