Reference Works
- Major Reference Works @ ScienceDirect Access to to Elsevier Reference Works, including online encyclopaedia's in the Life Sciences, including Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Immunology & Microbiology, and the Neurosciences.
- Wiley InterScience Reference Works Access to selected titles only. Includes reference works in the life sciences and the medical, veterinary, and health sciences.
- AccessScience: McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Online Explore Encyclopedia articles plus videos and news on more than +7000 plus scientific topics including the medical sciences.
Protocols
- Cold Spring Harbor Protocols Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is a definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques.Its coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging.
Note: Remote access not available. - Current Protocols Access to selected titles in the Current Protocols Series.Includes cell biology, cytometry, human genetics, molecular biology, and protein science.
Resources for Images
- Images.MD A collection of images taken from some core textbooks. All images contain correct citations so you are able use them and cite them correctly. You can create a personal account to store images and email them to yourself the images in powerpoint format.
- MD Consult Select the “Images” link from the top menu. Another collection of images taken from textbooks provided by MDConsult. All images link back to the e-books and full citation is provided. You can email yourself images
- Harrison's online image bank Images from Harrisons - Select "Images" from the top menu
- Anatomy.tv.
Presents and explores interactive anatomy. Contains complete anatomical 3D models from skin to bone for various body parts. Includes biomechanical animations, dynamic MRI, and movie clips to supplement the 3D model. - Wellcome History of Medicine Wellcome Images is one of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science
- HON Media HONmedia is an unique repository of over 6'800 medical images and videos, pertaining to 1,700 topics and themes. This peerless database has been created manually by HON and new image links are constantly being added from the world-wide Web.
- Google Images
Searching for Patents
To find patents search by number, keyword, personal or organisation name. Older patents can often be downloaded freely, but current patents may need to be purchased.
- The European Patent Office esp@cenet For Australian, European, Japanese and Worldwide patent searches.
- United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) For United States patent searches.
- Canadian Patents Database For Canadian patent searches.
- Google Patents search For United States Patent Searches.
Note: Google Patents does not include patent applications, international patents, or recent patents.
Quick Reference
- MEDLINEplus Medical Dictionary.
- ADAM Medical Encyclopedia
- NCBI Journals Abbreviation Search This website can be used to find out a journal abbrieviation or full title of a journal
Copyright
Copyright Information for Staff
Need more information?
Contact: Kate Sexton
Director of Copyright Services
Phone: 9351 2991
E-mail: copyright@usyd.edu.au





Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait