Information Skills
Need help looking up Databases?
You might like to attend one of our face-to-face classes or if you don't have time we have some short video tutorials or interactive Tutorials
- Face to Face Classes
- Medline Advanced Search: Introduction
(2mins:12sec)
Part 1 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Searching using MeSH
(2min:27sec)
Part 2 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Explode, Focus and Subheadings
(3mins:23sec)
Part 3 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Combining searches and limiting
(4 mins:08sec)
Part 4 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Searching Medline via OvidSP
Interactive Tutorial - Searching for Evidence Based Medicine
Interactive Tutorial
Key Databases
This list of databases consists of some of the core databases that you will use when conducting research into the medical sciences
- Medline via OvidSP (1950 - present) MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine´s premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the preclinical sciences, health administration, and the health care system.
- Embase.com (1966 - present) Embase.com is the European equivalent of Medline specialising in biomedical research, with in depth coverage of pharmaceutical research.
- BIOSIS Previews- via Web of Knowledge (1926 - present) BIOSIS Previews covers original research reports and reviews in traditional biological and biomedical areas. It also covers references to primary journal literature on vital biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms.
- Compendex via Engineering Village (1884 - present) Comprehensive database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines, including biomedical research.
- Web of Knowledge This portal hosts Web of Science, Current Contents Connect, and via the Additional Resources tab, Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators.
- PubMed U.S. National Library of Medicine's free online public access to Medline. See also Medline (OvidSP)
- More Medical Sciences databases...
E-Journal Portal
Electronic Resources - e-journals from the University of Sydney
- Use the Library catalogue to search ALL library journals, including free, annual and government reports, print, and rare resources.
Image

Collection: Wellcome Images
Neil Leslie, Biomedical research - composite artwork
Copyrighted work available under Creative Commons by-nc-nd 2.0 UK: England & Wales.
Looking for other images? Have a look at some Image Resources.
Information Skills
- PubMed Tutorial - US National Library of Medicine A web-based learning program that will show you how to search PubMed®, the National Library of Medicine (NLM®) journal literature search system.





Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait