e-bookse-journals
Citation Metrics: ScopusCitation Metrics: Web of ScienceKeeping Current...
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Medicine  Tags: medicine clinical_resources ebm evidence_based_medicine research_resources teaching_resources  

This is a guide to general medicine resources for USYD students, staff, and researchers
Last update: Nov 13th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/medicine  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Citation Metrics: Scopus             Print Page
  

Citation Metrics: Key Resources

Citation metrics are statistics gathered on the number of times an article has been cited by other articles. The following databases are the main sources of citation metrics, which are used a) to assess the quality or output of a researcher or b) to assess the quality of a journal:

  • Scopus  
    Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
  • Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge  
    It allows the identification of key articles in a discipline and to search by cited reference, that is to trace references that refer to a particular work or author. Also allows to find out how mmany times a paper has been cited.
  • Journal Citation Reports via ISI Web of Knowledge  
    Discover analytical information on journals such as impact factor and citation frequency
  • Essential Science Indicators via ISI Web of Knowledge  
    An analytical tool offering data for ranking scientists, institutions, countries, and journals.
 

Get Help

Contact your Faculty Liaison Librarian for help with citation searching, finding your h-index etc.

 
 

Using Scopus to find Citation Metrics for an Author

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Scopus coverage includes: 16,500 titles from more than 4,000 international publishers; abstracts from the mid-1960s to the present; access to citations in journals published from 1996 to the present. Subject coverage includes: Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Physical Sciences.

As a researcher:

  • You can find out who is citing you, and how many citations an article or an author has received.
  • You may uncover important and relevant articles that you may otherwise miss.
  • You can check out the work and citations of other authors.
  • You can click on the cited by and reference links to track research trends and make connections. You can do this within or across disciplines you are interested in.  

See Quick Reference Guide pdf (1.56MB) for an overview of Scopus.

 To access Scopus click here  or Select Scopus from  Citation Metrics: Key Resources list on this page,  or from  database lists in Finding Articles tabs.  For off-campus access you will need your Unikey or student/staff card barcode number.

To find citation metrics for an author, including the author's h-index, perform an Author Search:

  • In Last Name, enter an author's last name
  • In Initials or First Name, enter an author's first name or initials
  • Select Show exact matches only to restrict your search to authors that exactly match the terms entered in the Last Name field and to authors that start with the terms entered in the Initials or First Name fields
  • Click Search to begin your Author Search.  At the Make Author Selection page, select the author(s) you want to search for from the list
  • Click Show Documents  to see all author's articles
  • Click Citation Tracker to access metrics, including h-index
  • Click here to see example

Having trouble locating your documents  because of authors with similar names , or  because of variations in formatting  (e.g. Lewis, M;  Lewis, M.J; Lewis, Michael)?

Scopus Author Identifier can help you to distinguish  between authors who share very common names and to  recognize an author, despite variations in name spelling. See FAQ Author Identifier

 

To learn more about Author/Cited Reference searching try the following tutorials:

Scopus Tutorial: Author Searching

Scopus Tutorial: Cited Reference Searching

 
 

Citation Metrics: Tutorials

Shows how to retrieve and track an author's works in Scopus.

Shows the features and functionality available to search for specific affiliations or documents associated with an affiliation.

Shows how to access the references which appear in Scopus documents and the documents which cite Scopus documents.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait