e-bookse-journals
Citation Metrics: ScopusCitation Metrics: Web of ScienceKeeping Current...
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Medicine  Tags: medicine clinical_resources ebm evidence_based_medicine research_resources teaching_resources  

This is a guide to general medicine resources for USYD students, staff, and researchers
Last update: Nov 13th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/medicine  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Citation Metrics: Web of Science             Print Page
  

Citation Metrics: Key Resources

Citation metrics are statistics gathered on the number of times an article has been cited by other articles. The following databases are the main sources of citation metrics, which are used a) to assess the quality or output of a researcher or b) to assess the quality of a journal:

  • Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge  
    It allows the identification of key articles in a discipline and to search by cited reference, that is to trace references that refer to a particular work or author. Also allows to find out how mmany times a paper has been cited.
  • Scopus  
    Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
  • Journal Citation Reports via ISI Web of Knowledge  
    Discover analytical information on journals such as impact factor and citation frequency
  • Essential Science Indicators via ISI Web of Knowledge  
    An analytical tool offering data for ranking scientists, institutions, countries, and journals.
 

Articles and links

  • Metrics: The University of Queensland Library
  • ResearcherID and University Publication Data: A Case Study at The University of Queensland PDF 1932 KB
    ResearcherID
    PDF 2208 KB Dr Amberyn Thomas, The University of Queensland; Mr Renny Guida and Ms Ellen Rotenberg, Thomson Reuters
 

Get Help

Contact your Faculty Liaison Librarian for help with citation searching, finding your h-index etc.

 
 

Using Web of Science to find Citation Metrics for an Author

Web of Science® provides multidisciplinary coverage from nearly 9,300 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900.

Click here to download a Web of Science Quick Reference Card (pdf)

To access Web of Science  click here  or Select Web of Science from  Citation Metrics: Key Resources list on this page,  or from  database lists in Finding Articles tabs.  For off-campus access you will need your Unikey or student/staff card barcode number.

There are 2 ways of searching for author citation information in the Web of Science:

1. Perform an Author Search

  • On the Web of Science Search page select Author from drop-down menu and type family name and first initial/s (Use 'Author Finder'   to help  you to find variants of the same author name or to distinguish one author from another by field of research and/or address.) 
  • Click  Create Citation Report link which can be found under the Sort by menu on the Results page.  This report includes a sum of the times the author's articles have been cited, as well as a more detailed analysis, including graphs and a calculation of the author's h-Index see example of Citation Report showing h-index.

2. Perform a Cited Reference Search to include citations to items not indexed within Web of Science.

  • On the Web of Science Search page click the Cited Reference Search tab
  • Enter the name of the primary Cited Author and then click Search.
  • After you click Search, you will see references from the citation index that contain the cited author you entered. Select reference(s) from the citation index, and then click Finish Search
  • When you click Finish Search, you will retrieve records of articles that cite the references you selected from the citation index.

If the author has published in journals not indexed in the Web of Science, a Cited Reference Search will  result in a more complete listing of that author's works.

A Citation Report is not available for:

  • Cited Reference Search Results
  • Citing Articles
  • Related Records 

 

 Learn the basics of Web of Science's powerful citation search capabilities Web of Science Cited Reference Searching - Thomson Scientific [6 min 54 sec] 

 

 

Using Web of Science to Analyze topic search results

Use the Analyze Tool to quickly group the results, analyze the published papers, and identify research trends

refine_analyze

 1. Refine your Results

 Use Refine to mine a set of up to 100,000 results to find the top 100 Subject Categories, Source Titles, Document Types, Authors, Publication Years, Conference Titles, Countries, Institutions, and Languages. 

 2. Sort Results Sort up to 100,000 records by

  •  Latest Date (default)
  • Times Cited
  • Relevance
  • Publication Year
  • Source Title
  • First Author
  • Confererence Title

 3. Analyze Results

Like Refine, with Analyze you can mine a set of up to 100,000 results. With Analyze you can can output the results to Microsoft® Excel to create your own graphs.

4. Output Records or Save to Endnote Web

Output records, add to your Marked List, or save to EndNote Web. Quickly print, e-mail or save to a temporary marked list (500 records maximum), or save permanently to EndNote Web (10,000 max). Click “more options” to save a range of records, adjust your saved fields, or export directly to EndNote (you need to have EndNote installed on your desktop).

5. Create Citation Report 

Click Create Citation Report for a graphical  overview of the articles in a set of search results. The citation report includes a calculated h-index.

 
 

Citation Metrics: Tutorials

  • Web of Science Citation Report and H-index - Thomson Scientific [5 min 4 sec]  
    Learn how to quickly create and export a report that details citation activity to an author's publications. Each Web of Science citation report includes a calculated h-index which is also discussed in this presentation.
  • Web of Science Exporting and Using Citation Report Data - Thomson Scientific [7 min 46 sec]  
    Use data exported from Citation Report to create charts and graphs in a spreadsheet program.
  • Web of Science Cited Reference Searching - Thomson Scientific [6 min 54 sec]  
    Learn the basics of Web of Science's powerful citation search capabilities.
  • Introduction to Essential Science Indicators - Thomson Scientific [6 min 07 sec]  
    An introduction to data and rankings of highly cited authors, institutions, countries and journals
  • ResearcherID

    For authors who find it difficult to search for their  publications because other authors share the same name and initials; or because of inconsistent use of their name and initials, or mistakes in the database records,  it may be useful to use ResearcherID.

    ResearcherID, available via ResearcherID.com, is a global, multi-disciplinary scholarly research community. By assigning a unique identifier to each author who participates, ResearcherID provides an invaluable index to accurate author identification and increases recognition of work and collaboration among researchers.Read More

    Promoting your research using ResearcherID  0nline tutorial

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait