Useful Starters
- HealthInsite
Provides access to quality information about human health. - HON - Health on the Net Reliable medical and health Web sites for medical professionals.
- Intute: Medicine UK based subject gateway to quality medical and health information on the Internet.
- PogoFrog.com Medical Research Engine for physicians - finds only credible medical information.
Australian Sites
- Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) Australia's national agency for health and welfare statistics and information.
- Australian Medical Association Includes position statements and links to MJA. Media releases. Links to other Australian Medical Organizations.
- National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Australia's peak body for supporting health and medical research.
- NSW Department of Health Includes full text publications, hospital statistics, information for GPs and Health professionals, Health Services Directory, consumer health information
- Department of Health and Ageing Includes full text publications, media releases and links to consumer health information.
Other Key Sites
- Centers for disease control Information on chronic diseases, injuries, disabilities, and travellers' health. Prevention guidelines, plus full-text Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report.
- National Institutes of Health Part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, NIH is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research.
- U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) The NLM is the creator of the database Medline. The NLM web site links to a searchable catalogue but also to many other health information resources including the databases Medline, Toxline, Genbank and others.
- World Health Organization Includes information about WHO programmes, statistical information, full text publications, press releases and newsletters.
Internet image

Credit Nanette Hoogslag, Wellcome Images
Internet self help - composite artwork illustrating the search for
health information on the internet.
Collection: Wellcome Images
Copyrighted work available under Creative Commons by-nc-nd 2.0 UK: England & Wales
Internet tutorial
- Intute interactive tutorial Learn how to use the Internet to search for medical resources.






Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait