e-bookse-journals
Citation Metrics: ScopusCitation Metrics: Web of ScienceKeeping Current...
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Medicine  Tags: medicine clinical_resources ebm evidence_based_medicine research_resources teaching_resources  

This is a guide to general medicine resources for USYD students, staff, and researchers
Last update: Nov 13th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/medicine  Print Guide  RSS Updates

e-Resources             Print Page
  
 

All USyd e-resources

To find all e-books and e-journals held by University of Sydney Library search the catalogue:

 e-books

To find e-books on a topic,  do a Keyword or Subject search and select e-books from the limit list. 

 e-journals

To limit your search to e-journals select e-journals from the limit list on any search page of the catalogue.

 

New e-book collections

John Murtagh Series

The Popular John Murtagh Series is now Available Online:  

John Murtagh's General Practice (Now available)

John Murtagh's Patient Education

Murtagh's Practice Tips

Note: As there is a 2 user license, if you are unsuccessful accessing one of these titles please wait a few minutes and try again.

Authentication for the title "General Practice" has been resolved - the title is now accessible.

 
 

Selected e-books & e-journals

Look under separate tabs to find selected medicine e-books and e-journals

There is also a   list  of general e-book collections and a list of subject -specific e-book collections

 

 

Resources for Images

  • Images.MD  
    A collection of images taken from some core textbooks. All images contain correct citations so you are able use them and cite them correctly. You can create a personal account to store images and email them to yourself the images in powerpoint format.
  • MD Consult  
    Select the “Images” link from the top menu. Another collection of images taken from textbooks provided by MDConsult. All images link back to the e-books and full citation is provided. You can email yourself images
  • Harrison's online image bank  
    Images from Harrisons - Select "Images" from the top menu
  • Anatomy.tv.  
    Presents and explores interactive anatomy. Contains complete anatomical 3D models from skin to bone for various body parts. Includes biomechanical animations, dynamic MRI, and movie clips to supplement the 3D model.
  • Wellcome History of Medicine  
    Wellcome Images is one of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science
  • HON Media  
    HONmedia is an unique repository of over 6'800 medical images and videos, pertaining to 1,700 topics and themes. This peerless database has been created manually by HON and new image links are constantly being added from the world-wide Web.
  • Google Images  
 
 

Off-campus access and Help

About off-campus access to e-resources

Troubleshooting off-campus access

No student/staff card or UniKey?

Affiliates and Conferred Academic Title Holders - staff who teach University students or assist with research - including the following categories,  can apply for a Library card:

Do you have an  expired Affiliate/Honorary staff/University Title Holders card ? contact your Faculty Liaison Librarian

 Affiliates and Conferred Academic Title Holders currently include: 

  • Emeritus Professor
  • Academic Titles (Senior Executive Positions)
  • Adjunct Titles
  • Clinical Academic Titles
  • Conjoint Academic Titles
  • Honorary Titles
  • Visiting Titles
  • Research Titles
  • Administrative/Support staff

 Help is only a phone call away, or use the Ask a Librarian service to ask a question or arrange a research appointment.

Are you working in a teaching hospital, or a research centre affiliated with the University, but you are not sure who to contact for help? See FLL contacts for Clinical Schools   and  Medical Research Centres.

Obtaining articles and books off-campus

Information for distance postgraduate students

To arrange a training session at your clinical school or research centre contact your Faculty Liaison Librarian

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait