Information Skills
Need help looking up Databases?
You might like to attend one of our face-to-face classes or if you don't have time we have some short video tutorials or interactive Tutorials
- Face to Face Classes
- Medline Advanced Search: Introduction
(2mins:12sec)
Part 1 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Searching using MeSH
(2min:27sec)
Part 2 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Explode, Focus and Subheadings
(3mins:23sec)
Part 3 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Combining searches and limiting
(4 mins:08sec)
Part 4 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Searching Medline via OvidSP
Interactive Tutorial - Searching for Evidence Based Medicine
Interactive Tutorial
Key Databases
Key databases
- Medline via OvidSP (1950 - present)
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine´s premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the preclinical sciences, health administration, and the health care system - Meditext via Informit Online (1968 - present)
Australian literature on all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields. Full text available from 1995. - Embase.com (1966 - present)
European equivalent of Medline covering biomedicine and pharmacy. - All EBM Reviews: Cochrane DSR, ACP Journal Club, DARE, CCTR, CLEED, CLCMR, & CLHTA via OvidSP
This mutifile database allows you to search simultaneously the seven Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases including Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; ACP Journal Club; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) - Scopus
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas. - Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge
Contains Science Citation Index Expanded 1945-, Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975. It allows the identification of key articles in a discipline and to search by cited reference, that is to trace reference - PubMed The National Library of Medicine's free online public access to Medline. See also Medline (OvidSP)
- See Full list of Health and Medical Databases
Database access problems?
- Off-campus access problems?
- E-resource troubleshooting
-
Apply for an Honorary staff library card
Images

Collection: Wellcome Images
Credit Neil Webb, Wellcome Images
Man sitting hunched over a laptop computer, staring into a screen full of text.
Digital artwork/Computer graphic 2008
Copyrighted work available under Creative Commons by-nc-nd 2.0 UK
Looking for other images? Have a look at some Image Resources.
Searching Help
Need advice about which databases to use or expert help with your search strategy?
Are you studying or researching off campus and you would like ta arrange a small group training session at your clinical school or research centre?
Contact your faculty liaison librarian to arrange a training session or one-to-one research appointment.






Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait