eBookseJournals
Videos & Images
Research Impact
Critical CareGenetic CounsellingMedical EducationOpthalmologyPaediatricsPain ManagementPsychotherapyReproductive Health and Human GeneticsSleep MedicineSurgery
This is the "Home" page of the "Medicine" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
This is a guide to general medicine resources for USYD students, staff, and researchers
Last Updated: May 30, 2016 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/medicine Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

University Library Support @ Clinical Schools

 

Off-campus access and Help

About off-campus access to eResources

Troubleshooting off-campus access

Help is only a phone call away, or use the Ask a Librarian service to ask a question or arrange a research appointment.

Are you working in a teaching hospital, or a research centre affiliated with the University, but you are not sure who to contact for help? See FLL contacts for Clinical Schools and Research Centres.

Obtaining articles and books off-campus

Information for distance postgraduate students

To arrange a training session at your clinical school or research centre contact your Academic Liaison Librarian

Key Databases

Key databases

  • Medline via OvidSP (1946 - present)  
      
    MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine´s premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the preclinical sciences, health administration, and the health care system
  • Embase via OvidSP (1974 - present)
    A major pharmacological, biomedical and drug information database. The European equivalent of Medline.
  • All EBM Reviews: Cochrane DSR, ACP Journal Club, DARE, CCTR, CLEED, CLCMR, & CLHTA via OvidSP  
      
    This mutifile database allows you to search simultaneously the seven Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases including Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; ACP Journal Club; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
  • Scopus  
      
    Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
  • Web of Science  
      
    Contains Science Citation Index Expanded 1945-, Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975. It allows the identification of key articles in a discipline and to search by cited reference, that is to trace reference
  • PubMed
    The National Library of Medicine's free online public access to Medline. See also Medline (OvidSP)
  • See Full list of Health and Medical Databases
 

Related Guides and pages

To find resources, click tabs above or follow the links  below  

Picture from Wellcome Images B0001966Credit Ian Spreadbury, Wellcome Images Artwork representing the science of neurobiology.Copyrighted work available under Creative Commons by-nc-nd 2.0 UK 

 

Academic Liaison Librarians

 Joy Wearne (Medicine)

Bernie Carr (Medical Program)

Phillippa Bourke (Public Health)

Lorraine Evison (Medical Sciences)

Faculty Teams Workroom, Level 2, Fisher North
F03 - Fisher Library
The University of Sydney
NSW 2006 Australia

Email Us

 

Rate This Guide

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip