Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Mathematics and Statistics 

Last update: Jun 04th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/MathsStats  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles             Print Page
  

Key Databases

The library website provides access to a vast range of journal articles via DATABASES.

These articles are the best source of scholarly information because they are:

  • High quality
  • Up-to-date
  • Fully searchable
  • Accessible at all times and from off-campus
  • Not accessible via a simple Google search

This list of databases consists of some of the core databases that you will use when conducting Mathematics research.

MathSciNet (1940-present)
MathSciNet ss the equivalent of the print publications Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications Produced by the American Mathematical Society. The main subject areas covered are pure and applied mathematics, statistics and computer science.

Lecture Notes in Mathematics (1964 - present )
This series reports on new developments in all areas of mathematics and their applications.

Zentralblatt Math (1931-present)
Covers the entire spectrum of mathematics, statistics and the information sciences with special emphasis on areas of application and is the world's most complete and longest running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics.

See full list of Math databases

      
     

    Databases vs Internet

    Library Databases

    The Internet

    Purchased by libraries

    Free to anyone with computer access.

    Content is evaluated by publishers for authority and accuracy and licensed for electronic distribution

    Anyone can publish anything to the web whenever they want.

    Information is stable

    Websites come and go

    Are organized and indexed by Librarians so content can easily be accessed, managed, and updated

    No official body oversees the organization, cataloging, and evaluation of sources found on a specific page

    • Options to search search
    • specific subject headings and descriptors.
    • Search by keywords in specific
          fields such as author and title.
    •  Limit search results

    ·         Only searches by matching the
    characters and keywords entered
    by the user.

    ·         It can be difficult to narrow dowthe results.

    What is a Library database?

    A library database is an indexed collection of journal articles, magazines, newspapers, reviews, abstracts, conference proceedings and other information that has been peer reviewed, selected for quality, checked for accuracy and reliability by publishers, then licensed for distribution in online/electronic format.

    What is the Internet?

    Internet is a network of computers that is unstructured, constatnly changing, not fully indexed, appeals to no special audience, has no selection of content and provides much free information. Search engines index the Internet but no one search engine includes the entire content of the Internet. More and more search engines provide search directories. Instead of seearching with keywords, an Internet user can go to a directory and click on the subject they want to see.

     

     

     

     

     

     

     
     

    Database Searching Tips

    Are you having trouble finding journal articles or book chapters on your research topic?

    The following searching tips may help:

    • Search using just the key concepts for your topic (e.g. "nonlinear dynamics" "chaotic systems")
    • Think of alternative phrases or words to describe your topic (e.g. "nonlinearity" chaos")
    • Try using truncation to return more results (e.g. oscillat*)
    • Use the words 'AND' and 'OR' to combine similar phrases in a search string (e.g (nonlinear dynamics OR nonlinearity) AND chaos

     

     

    Need help searching? Try this YouTube video.


    Loading Video Clip...
     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait