Literature ReviewScientific Report
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources  Tags: agriculture natural_resources agricultural_economics resource_economics environmental_science  

This guide provides an overview of resources available for agricultural science, land and water science, horticulture, turf management, and agriculture and resource economics.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/agriculture  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Keeping Up to Date            Print Page
  
 

Getting information to come to you

 

You can keep yourself up to date while getting on with other things!

 

 

Journal Table of Contents services

It is possible to set up an alert so that when a new issue of a journal is published you will receive an email or an updated RSS feed. 

To do this using Current Contents log in (or register for an account) and then choose My journals from the top menu and add preferred journal titles (NB you can use the Browse Journals link to see what titles are available). 

ticTOCs is a new scholarly journal tables of contents (TOCs) service. It’s free, its easy to use, and it provides access to the most recent tables of contents of over 11,000 scholarly journals from more than 400 publishers.

Journal publishers will also usually offer Table of Contents services via email or RSS from their webpages.

 

More information about current awareness services

The Library has compiled a very informative table of information about alerting services from databases, publishers and individual journals. 

 

New book lists at Badham and Camden Libraries

The new book lists are updated every month.

 
 

Database alerts - Web of Science

Saving and rerunning searches and email alerts:

So you have done an excellent search and found just the articles you want ...      why not have the database save your search so you can rerun the exact search again a few months later or have the database email you whenever anything which matches your topic is added to the database?

To do this in Web of Science databases (including CAB Abstracts, BIOSIS Previews and Web of Science):

Perform your search and click Save history. You will be prompted to login or register at Web of Knowledge. (You create your own username - you don't need to use your Unikey or your University email)  You will be able to access My Saved Searches and rerun them by logging in at any time.

Email alerts - you can choose to have email alerts sent to you when you first save a search or you can go to the Search history page and modify the search settings at any time. If you prefer you can use RSS feeds rather than email alerts.

Surfer on computer mouse

 

Citation alerts

Web of Science includes the Science Citation Index.  A citation index allows you to track who has quoted whom - so following influences on academic research forward and backward in time.  Citation Alerts - notify you by e-mail whenever an article you select is cited by a new article.

To create a Citation Alert perform your search in Web of Science then click the Create Citation Alert button in the record display. You will be prompted to login or register at Web of Knowledge. The record will be added to your My Cited Articles List in Web of Knowledge and you will get an email whenever someone else quotes it.

Citation alerts are also available from ScienceDirect and SCOPUS

 

Discussion lists, blogs and newsletters

Email and discussion lists are excellent for finding out about conferences and new research - try Jiscmail (UK), and CataList 

CSU produce a Library Environment & Agriculture Blog.

The University of Sydney has some blogs listed at http://www.usyd.edu.au/blogs/ 

Associations and special interest groups also facilitate networking as well as keeping up to date: e.g.
CABI produces a blog and an EZine you can subscribe to on their work and relevant current news. 
The ABARE mailing list will help you keep up to date with data releases, conferences and other news. 

CSIRO produce a wide range of email and print newsletters.

The FAO website hosts a range of international online discussion forums.

BIOSCI/Bionet is a set of electronic communication forums - the bionet USENET newsgroups and parallel e-mail lists - used by biological scientists worldwide

 
 

What are RSS feeds?

RSS icon    RSS feeds are available wherever you see an icon like this.

RSS stands for Really Simple Syndication or Rich Site Summary. See Wikipedia or the BBC for more information but basically they are a way of getting automated updates from websites, news services and databases. 

To read RSS feeds you need software that checks RSS feeds and displays updated content. Free web-based readers (e.g. Google Reader, Bloglines) let you check RSS feeds from any computer, whereas downloadable applications (e.g. Newz Crawler, FeedDemon) let you store them on your own computer.  You can also use the RSS reader built into browsers such as Internet Explorer or Firefox or use Microsoft Outlook to receive RSS feeds.  

If you choose to use Google Reader just register for a personal free account at www.google.com/reader.

Click on Add subscription and paste the RSS feed url into the box. Get the url by clicking on the RSS logo and copying from the web browser or following alternative instructions given nearby.  View your feeds at any time by logging into Google Reader.

IMPORTANT: RSS feeds urls from subscription databases may need the exproxy information deleting for Google Reader to work (ie delete ezproxy2.library.usyd.au from the url)

Find RSS feeds from the ABC, BBC and newspapers like the Sydney Morning Herald or the Guardian as well as library databases and journal alerts.

 

Suggest A Resource

Please suggest any new links you think would be useful.

Newsfeeds

  • Efeedlink  
    News & Information that keep you up-to-date on the feed, meat and livestock market and industry developments.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait