Key Databases for Agricultural Science
- CAB Abstracts via ISI Web of Knowledge (1910 - present) The place to start for agriculture, food and natural resources, covering local and international material.
- Web of Science via ISI Web of Knowledge One of the largest Science databases with good coverage of agriculture, food and natural resources. It also provides citation analysis of authors, journals and subject areas.
- ANR-Index : Agriculture and Natural Resources Index and Archive Essential for finding Australian agriculture and natural resources industry information and is particularly useful for locating government documents.
- BIOSIS Previews via ISI Web of Knowledge (1926 - present) A major resource for all biological sciences and particularly useful for searching experimental research.
- GeoRef via GeoScienceWorld (1785 - present) Georef is the most comprehensive database for Geosciences and is particularly relevant for soil science and natural resources.
- Livestock Library Searches Australian industry and government sites for information on our beef and sheep industry. This is particularly useful for locating government publications on all aspects of Australian agriculture.
- More Databases...
Key Databases for Agricultural Economics
- CAB Abstracts via ISI Web of Knowledge (1910 - present) The largest database focussing on agriculture and natural resources. Covers local and international material.
- Business Source Premier One of the largest business and economics databases. It also provides profiles for the world's largest companies.
- ABI Inform via Proquest (1971 - present) One of the larger databases covering business, industry and economics.
- Factiva Factiva searches local and international news publications, commentary, pictures, company information and stock quotes.
- ECONLIT via CSA Provides access to a large range of economics literature including theses, working papers and conference proceedings.
- ANR-Index : Agriculture and Natural Resources Index and Archive via Informit Online (1975 - present) Essential for finding Australian agriculture and natural resources industry information and is particularly useful for locating government documents.
- AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural & Applied Economics AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including working papers, conference papers and Journal articles
- More Databases...
Database Searching Tips
Are you having trouble finding journal articles or book chapters on your research topic?
The following searching tips may help:
- Search using just the key concepts for your topic (e.g. "fair-trade" "coffee" "consumers")
- Think of alternative phrases or words to describe your topic (e.g. "international trade" "consumption")
- Try using truncation to return more results (e.g. consum*)
- Use the words 'AND' and 'OR' to combine similar phrases in a search string (e.g (fair trade OR international trade) AND coffee
Need more help? The following is a short humorous video providing an overview of the principles of database searching.
Don't like watching video? Access the text version HERE






Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait