About this page
This page lists exciting new resources which could enhance teaching and learning. All of them are awaiting evaluation by academic staff and students. Once they get evaluated they will be moved into folders which you can see when you mouse over the "Novel e-Learning Resources" tab. Please submit your evaluation/feedback/recommendations here >>>>>>>>>>>
Cotent authoring software, gadgets, sites of general interest
- Faculty of Medicine Video Conferencing Network - Bridgit videoconferencing & online presentations software
How to use Bridgit to join/view a video conference on your laptop or desktop, or for presentations? Bridgit is a computer program that allows what is showing on the screen of one PC screen to be seen on other PCs. Bridgit is a type of web collaboration program. - Echo360 - Desktop capture and streaming of lecture material
You can download Echo360 from the Echo resources webCT site, just ask the WebCT helpdesk to give you access to the Echo 360 resource site. It's a lot simpler than Camtasia and other content authoring software and the product is not as good (and can't be broken apart for editing later) but for casual users it's OK, also it's free for Uni staff with Unikey. Camtasia doesn't flow seamlessly into Lectopia, Echo360 does.
DVDs, CDs & videos
- Medi-Visions Films - medical teaching DVDs
[Buy] They have 58 videos in DVD format. One can browse and preview all 58 without registering. All videos are supported by downloadable transcripts and online MCQ tests which can easily be incorporated into a program.
e-Books
- Prosthetic Treatment of the Edentulous Patient / R.M. Basker, J.C. Davenport.
In spite of improvements in oral health, there will always be a significant number of people who lose all their teeth. Furthermore, as people are living longer, complete denture work has become more challenging and managing the transition from a pre-edentulous to an edentulous condition has become more critical. - Textbook of endodontology / edited by Gunnar Bergenholtz (et al)
This book gives an essential understanding of the biological processes involved in pulpal and periapical pathoses and provides the scientifically based knowledge needed to manage fundamental endodontic problems. With an exhaustive reference list, case studies from daily practice, and updated endodontic theories and techniques, this book is useful for dental students and dental practitioners alike. - Medical emergencies in dentistry / by Nigel D. Robb and Jason Leitch This essential, practical guide on how to diagnose and manage medical emergencies in dentistry covers the theory behind emergency management, in conjunction with practical tips and training so that all members of the dental team are able to deal with uncommon but potentially tragic events.
Handheld library- Mobile phone tools
Handheld Library - PDA tools
Image banks, dental images, databases
- Google Images Creative Commons search
[Free] To use this feature go to Google Advanced Image Search and look for the Usage Rights filters. Of course, as always, you will need to make an evaluation about whether the image is in fact Creative Commons. Nevertheless, for those who want to adopt good practice in image re-use, this is a very helpful development. - Animated-Teeth.com
[Free] Consumer level animations of dental procedures. - The new look PubMed PubMed has a new interface. It looks great, has some nice simple searches, and excellent online tutorials on how to use it. The long awaited preview is now officially available.
- SpringerImages
[Buy] SpringerImages provides a new way to access hard-to-find scientific content of the utmost value to researchers: images. It has almost 500000 images in medicine and health sciences.
Interactive media
- Oral Pathology Review
[Free] An interactive teaching tool developed by John L. Giunta, Professor of Oral Pathology for examinations for students at Forsyth School for Dental Hygienists and at Tufts University School of Dental Medicine. - The Skeletal System
[Free] From Minnesota State University A basic review of the skeletal system; click on the hyperlinks to view a photo of the bone(s). - The Virtual Autopsy - Anatomy & Physiology
[Free] From the Univeristy of Leicester, a cool site created by Ajay Mark Verma, Ruth Mackay and Tim Taylor.
iPhone & iTunes
University of Utah researchers created new iPhone programs - known as applications or "apps" - to help scientists, students, doctors and patients study the human body, evaluate medical problems and analyze other three-dimensional images. For more information please see iPhone the Body Electric (Source: http://www.unews.utah.edu/p/?r=092409-2 Accessed on 17/10/2009)
You will need the iTunes player installed (http://www.apple.com/itunes/download/) and internet connection to access some great resources
Open-access course material
- MedEdPORTAL
[Free] Peer-reviewed publication service and repository for medical and oral health teaching materials, assessment tools, and faculty development resources. Users can download and utilize anyand all of the published resources for educational purposes fre - Tufts OpenCourseWare (OCW) project
[Free] Tufts OpenCourseWare is part of a new educational movement initiated by MIT that provides free access to course content for everyone online. - Fixed Prosthodontic Learning Dossier Assignment
From MedEdPORTAL. Author: Vanessa L. Swain, DMD, MSc, University of Manitoba Faculty of Dentistry - Gallery of Prosthodontic Procedural Technique Videos
This website contains a collection of videos of procedures and techniques in Pre-clinical and Fixed Prosthodontics. In this gallery, the typical lengthy dental procedures are broken into smaller segments and recorded in short clip videos: to enable learners to watch and focus in every step of the complex skills. The video interface also provides the learners the ability to rewind, forward and replay videos clips at their own pace giving the opportunity to rehearse and master the skill.
Other exciting e-learnig tools
- Clinical Reader
[Free] "At this moment, high impact research and health news articles are scattered across hundreds of sites. That´s far too much for any reader to follow. Clinical Reader provides a quality collection of accessible clinical, scientific and health literature aiming to ease information delivery to the medical community. Focus your time, discover new links, fine-tune your online experience in a bid to effectively manage your time online." - CyberDent
[Free] CyberDent is an exciting community site for dental e-learning concepts and projects. You will find many examples of e-learning applied to dentistry, such as interactive models of teeth and periodontic procedures - JAMAevidence - Using Evidence to Improve Care (TRIAL ends 10 August 2009)
[Buy] This innovative learning tool provides medical students, residents, educators, and clinicians with the fundamental tools required for understanding and applying the medical literature and making clinical diagnoses. - uCentral: Knowledge at the point of need—Mobile and Web
[Buy] uCentral is Unbound Medicine’s custom point-of-need solution for institutions
Use this form to provide feedback on any item on this page
Anyone can send feedback so please include your name or student number. Your feedback is confidential, it is only accessible by the Dentistry Librarian.
Send new e-learning and novel education resources
If you come across any new and novel education resources for Dentistry please click "Submit a Link" and send details




Submit a Link
Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait