
Collection: Wellcome Images
Credit Neil Leslie, Wellcome Images
Composite computer artwork illustrating aspects of human disease.
Copyrighted work available under Creative Commons by-nc-nd 2.0 UK
Looking for other images? Have a look at some Image Resources.
Key databases
This list of databases consists of some of the core databases that you will use when conducting Medical research.
- Medline via OvidSP (1950 - present)
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine´s premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the preclinical sciences, health administration, and the health care system. - Apais-Health via Informit Online (1978 - present)
Covers health and medicine in Australia, in particular the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. - Embase.com
European equivalent of Medline covering biomedicine and pharmacy. - All EBM Reviews: Cochrane DSR, ACP Journal Club, DARE, CCTR, CLEED, CLCMR, & CLHTA via OvidSP
This mutifile database allows you to search simultaneously the seven Evidence Based Medicine Reviews databases including Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; ACP Journal Club; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) - Mims Online
An Australian pharmaceutical database. It offers access to information on prescription and non-prescription drugs. To end the session please close your browser window. - MD Consult
MDConsult consists of cross searchable full text medical reference books and full text medical journals and clinics. - See Full list of Health and Medical Databases
Information Skills
Need help looking up Databases?
You might like to attend one of our face-to-face classes or if you don't have time we have some short video tutorials or interactive Tutorials
- Face to Face Classes
- Medline Advanced Search: Introduction
(2mins:12sec)
Part 1 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Searching using MeSH
(2min:27sec)
Part 2 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Explode, Focus and Subheadings
(3mins:23sec)
Part 3 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Combining searches and limiting
(4 mins:08sec)
Part 4 of the Medline via OvidSP screencast - Searching Medline via OvidSP
Interactive Tutorial - Searching for Evidence Based Medicine
Interactive Tutorial






Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait