Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Occupational Therapy 

Last update: Oct 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/occupation  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles             Print Page
  
 

Database news

  • The Cinahl database has moved from OvidSP to the EBSCO platform. Contact me if you would like help using the EBSCO interface.
  • We no longer have access to the Oshrom Occupational Health and Safety database. We will be trialling some alternatives in 2009.
 

How do I find journal articles?

If you're trying to track down a particular journal article - say one on your reading list - use the library catalogue. Find out more...

If you're trying to find journal articles on a particular subject, use one of our databases. [Find out more...]

Search engines

Follow this link to Google Scholar to make sure you get full text access to journal articles that the library subscribes to.

 

Key databases

Databases are a great way to find up to date, scholarly research. You will most often find journal articles in a database - but they might also include resources like conference papers, magazine or newspaper articles and book chapters. Databases usually focus on a particular subject, and can be searched using keywords relating to your topic.

Here are some of the key databases for Occupational Therapy - or click on More Databases for a complete list.

  • Medline  
      
    Covers all aspects of health and medicine.
  • Cinahl  
      
    Comprehensive source for nursing and allied health literature.
  • Scopus  
      
    Large abstract database with good coverage of occupational therapy journals.
  • OTSeeker  
      
    A useful resource for finding systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy.
  • JBI COnNECT  
      
    An evidence-based health care resource that includes evidence summaries in Occupational Therapy.
  • More Databases...  
 

Basic Search Tips

Never searched a database before? Here are some tips to get you started:

  • Identify key concepts. e.g. 'occupational therapy' and 'elders'
  • Brainstorm synonyms for each key concept. e.g. 'OT', 'elderly' 
  • Use truncation to get more results. e.g. 'elder*' will find 'elder', 'elders', 'elderly' etc
  • Use double quotation marks to search for a phrase. e.g. "occupational therapy" 
  • Use brackets to group terms together e.g. ("occupational therapy" OR "OT")
  • Combine synonyms with OR and key concepts with AND e.g. ("occupational therapy" OR "OT") AND elder*

Watch this short and funny clip to discover more.

 

 
 

Need to find a peer reviewed article?

A peer reviewed journal contains articles that have been reviewed by experts before publication. [See the peer review process in action...]

Check Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to see if a journal has been peer reviewed.

Click on the eResources tab to see a list of peer reviewed occupational therapy journals.

Citation databases

If you find a great article on your topic, you can use a citation database to track down related articles. These databases will show you the articles' reference list - and a list of who else has cited it since it was published.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait