Finding & Managing Images
The following sites provide extensive information on finding, using and managing images, including Copyright ...
- Internet for Image Searching - TASI Tutorial Learn how to use the Internet to find copyright cleared images, quickly and efficiently.
- Using Images in Teaching and Learning Comprehensive information on using images, including managing image files, from the University of Reading
- Copyright and Images - University of Sydney Information on copying artworks, images and photos for research and study from the University's Copyright Service.
Citing Images
In Chicago Style, citations for art images usually include the following information from the source:
- Artist's Name:
For a Caption use First name then Family Name,
eg. Giuseppe Arcimboldo - Title of the work
- Date
- Media
- Size
- Museum or repository
- Location
If an image is found in a book or online, include the publishing and page details for the book, and the URL & access date for the online image.
- Chicago Manual of Style For detailed information on citing images, captions and credit statements, see Chapter 12.
Image Collections
There is a vast range of image collections on the Internet, from large search engines to specific collections and databases. The following list includes a small selection ...
- Google Image Search Popular image search engine.
- ARTstor International collection of digital art images, drawn from a variety of sources and collections. See the YouTube video below for an Introduction to using ARTstor.
- University of Sydney - Art History & Theory Digital Image Database Includes SCA Images Online collection.
- Digital Image Collections Wiki Free- and Fair-Use digital image collections that are available for anyone to use for personal or educational purposes.
- Finding Images on the Web Guide to finding images on specific subjects from Boston University.
- Intute: Arts & Humanities Image Banks
- More image databases
How to use ARTstor
View the video below for an introduction to using ARTstor image database ...

Loading Video Clip...
SCA Degree shows

Browse student works in SCA Degree shows in the SCA Images Online database.
Read More about the 2008 SCA Degree shows.
flickr
- Flickr Creative Commons Browse or search for images with alternative copyright licenses.
- Flickr Advanced Search Search the Flickr photo sharing site





Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait