Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Engineering 

Last update: Oct 29th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/engineering  Print Guide  RSS Updates

SciFinder - Web             Print Page
  
 

SciFinder - Web Version

 

SciFinder Support & Training

How to Guides 

These guides, in PDF format, offer quick overviews of SciFinder's basic functionality and are designed for the beginning user.

Tutorials 

Learn about exploring research topics, as well as structure and reaction searching in the web version of SciFinder, via WebEx.  Available as short recorded sessions.

Strategies 

Designed for the intermediate user, SciFinder Strategies help illustrate specific search strategies for:

  • Small molecule searching
  • Synthetic chemistry
  • Polymer chemistry

 
CAS eSeminars

To link though to forthcoming eSeminars and and recorded sessions, click on the link for SciFinder. You will be required to register, including your SciFinder Login ID, and set up Event Manager on your computer. This one time set up takes about a minute using a high speed connection. 

 
 

Things to know

Registration

Everybody must Register  for a SciFinder username and password - UniKey is required. You will use this each time you access SciFinder. After completing the registration process you will receive a confirmation email containing a link. You must click this link to complete registration. Registration facilitates a number of features in the database such as Keep Me Posted Alerts and saving answer sets.

Please register one time only.

If you forget your registration details please use the Forgotten username or password link on the SciFinder login screen.

User Licenses

The University of Sydney Library currently has 8 user licenses for SciFinder. If all the licenses are in use you will receive a message stating: "SciFinder is unable to establish a session because all concurrent sessions for your campus are in use. Please try again later."

SciFinder Scholar 2007 (Client version) access is no longer possible. CAS is no longer updating or developing the software.

Off Campus Access

SciFinder is available off-campus. You must link to the database from a library web page to be IP authenticated as a University of Sydney staff or student.

 

SciFinder

SciFinder is an international database of journal articles, conferences, books, reports, patents within the Chemical Abstracts database; Chemical Abstracts from 1907, and Medline from 1966. Subject coverage includes chemical engineering, chemistry, biochemistry, pharmacy, pharmacology, agricultural chemistry, food science and medicine. Users can explore by chemical structure, reaction or  by research topic, author, company, substance name and stay up to date on today's most recent scientific developments using a 'Keep me Posted" alert.

The CAS databases provide access to: 

  • More than 16 million single- and multi-step reactions, more than 1 billion predicted property values and more than 2 million experimental properties
  • The CAS REGISTRYSM database - the original source and final authority for CAS Registry Numbers - updated daily
  • All patent records, meeting CAS selection criteria, from 9 major patent offices are available online within 2 days of issuance
  • Sequences combined from CAS and GenBank databases, which are indexed and linked to scientific journal and patent literature
 

Faculty Liaison Librarians

Profile ImageBelinda Norman &

Ute Foster

Contact Info:
Phone: +61 02 862 78718
0434 606 897 (Belinda)
0466 152 488 (Ute)
Fax: +61 02 862 78730
Belinda (Mon, Thur, Fri)
Ute (Tue, Wed)
The SciTech Library
Level 1, Jane Foss Russell Building
160 City Ro
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait