Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Engineering 

Last update: Oct 29th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/engineering  Print Guide  RSS Updates

ENGG 1803             Print Page
  
 

1) Getting Started

When you get an assignment, the first thing you need to do is ANALYSE THE TOPIC.

This means reading the question carefully and identifying the key concepts.

For example, the question "How can we reduce carbon emissions from engines?" produces the concepts:

REDUCTION

CARBON EMISSIONS

ENGINES

The next stage is to produce synonyms for your search terms, e.g.

REDUCTION or CONTROL or LIMIT

CARBON EMISSIONS or POLLUTION

ENGINE or COMBUSTION ENGINE

Check out the interactive video "Search Smarter, Search Smarter" for a better idea.

Exercise

Identify the keywords, suggest synonyms and construct a search strategy for the topic "Fire safety methods in the mining industry in Australia".

You might find the Research Plan a useful tool for this exercise.

 

2) Finding Articles

The library website provides access to a vast range of journal articles via DATABASES.

These articles are the best source of scholarly information because they are:

  • High quality
  • Up-to-date
  • Fully searchable
  • Accessible at all times and from off-campus
  • Not accessible via a simple Google search

Some key databases include:

You can see a full list of thedatabases available to you on the library website.

Exercise

1) Open Compendex
2) Using your search strategy from the previous exercise, perform a search.
3) Look at your results list. Are they relevant? How many are there? How many are in full text?

 
 

3) Finding the Best Books

The simplest way to find books is by performing a keyword search on the library catalogue.

If you want to use a more complex search using synonyms etc, try playing with the catalogue's Advanced Search.

Note that the drop-box that defaults to "entire collection" can be changed to "e-books". E-books can be accessed online from any computer, just like the journal articles in the databases.

You can also access the items for your Unit of Study by performing a Reserve search (More detail here).

If you have any problems finding a book in the library after you have found it on the catalogue, this interactive video might be useful.

Exercises

1) Conduct a keyword search for "mining safety" on the library catalogue. How many results do you get? How relevant are they? What words could you add to your search to make it more useful?

2) Try an advanced search on the same keywords but select "SciTech" from the "Location" dropdown menu. What difference does this make?

3) Conduct a keyword search for "mining safety" on the library catalogue but select "e-books" instead of "entire collection" from the dropdown menu. Click on the most interesting result and discover how e-books work.

4) Perform a Reserve search for ENGG 1803.

 

 

4) Smart Internet Strategies

There is obviously a huge amount of information available on the internet, but it needs to be used carefully. A typical Google search will produce a mix of information from businesses, governments, campaign groups, individual bloggers and other organisations. It will not produce scholarly information of the kind produced by a search of the databases or the library catalogue.

You should be particularly careful of using Wikipedia articles in your assignments. Wikipedia is unreliable because there is no formal editing process and you cannot be sure who wrote the articles. As a rule, never use a Wikipedia article as a reference in your assignment, but you might find some interesting further reading.

One way of improving your experience on Google is by using the options on Google Advanced Search to limit your results.

You could also try using Google Scholar, a Google application that searches for academic material.

Exercise

Conduct a Google search on "mining safety" and look at the first 10 results. What kind of pages have you found?

Conduct a Google Scholar search on "mining safety" and look at the first 10 results. What kind of pages have you found?

 

5) Using Your Information

Referencing or citing is a formal way of acknowledging sources of information and ideas you have used in your essay or assignment. It identifies the sources so they may be verified.  One of the most commonly used referencing styles is the Harvard style. For detailed information about this style including comprehensive examples have a look at http://www.lib.unimelb.edu.au/cite/harvard_dis/ 

Essays, theses and assignments need to formally recognise the sources from which you have obtained information. Presenting another person's work as your own by copying it without due acknowledgement is plagiarism. Have a look at this short interactive tutorial on what is plagiarism and how to avoid it.
Plagiarism & academic honesty 

 

6) Assessment Task

 

To complete this module, you need to email your answer to this question to your Faculty Liaison Librarian, Tom Goodfellow:

t.goodfellow@library.usyd.edu.au

The question is:

What do you think was the most useful thing you learnt in this library module, and why?

 

 

PLEASE CONTACT ME IF YOU HAVE ANY DIFFICULTY WITH THE EXERCISES

Profile ImageTom Goodfellow, Faculty Liaison Librarian
Contact Info:
Tel: +61 2 8627 8707
Mob: +61 434 606 883

Scitech Library
The University of Sydney
Level 1, Jane Foss Russell Building
160 City Road
Darlington
NSW 2006
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait