This page lists Library resources which provide Apps or customised search interfaces for mobile devices.
Last Updated: Sep 26, 2012
URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/handhelds
Print Guide
- Summon
Summon searches across most of our full-text e-journals, and the Library catalogue. Includes links to fulltext.
- Mobile catalogue
- AirPAC - Library catalogue
- ACS Mobile App
The American Chemical Society Mobile App requires connection to the University wireless network or VPN for access to fulltext
- Alexander Street databases - Music Online, Opera in Video
Send an audio or video track, album or playlist from to your mobile device to listen to later.
In your search results, look for a mobile phone icon next to each track to send the "Shortlink" to your device.
Shortlinks cannot be accessed outside the University's network after 48 hours but will still be usable within it.
Requires iPhone on 3G network or better, or mobile device with Android OS
- Annual Reviews
- ArtSTOR Mobile
For access on iPhone & iPads first
Register via the University of Sydney's subscription.
More Android users, while on campus, go to to library.artstor.org on your device, click the "Enter here" button, and then install the free app.
- BioOne ejournals
Uses device pairing
- BMJ Best Practice - how to register
Access BMJ Best Practice via
this link to set up your personal registration.
Login
here or use
http://bp.bmjgroup.mobi for Android, etc, users.
Best Practice App available for download for iOS users after Personal Registration is set up.
- BMJ Journal apps
- Cambridge University Press - Cambridge Journals Online (CJO) - mobile interface
Access the Library's subscription to Cambridge Journals by
twinning your device.You need to set up a personal account in our subscription to CJO first
- ebrary ebooks
Apps available for iOS and Android.
The Facebook Sign-in option is required - you need a Facebook account & an Adobe Digital Editions ID.
How to set up access .
Sign in with your UniKey when you click sign in while setting up access. You do not need to create a personal account in ebrary. - Ebsco Apps for iPhone and Android
Open an Ebsco database via the Ebsco mobile link below, or any of our other links to Ebsco databases. Click the link at the bottom of the screen to send yourself the instructions, key and a link to download the app.
Help - Ebsco mobile - all Ebsco databases
- HeinOnline
No username and password available. To IP authenticate this app, you must be on-campus. Note: After you IP authenticate via the app, your authentication will expire in 30 days and will need to be re-authenticated on-campus.
- IEEE Xplore Mobile
Includes links to fulltext.
- Informit Online databases
Informit PDFs may now be correctly viewed on mobiles such as BlackBerrys, iPhones and Windows Mobile devices
- JSTOR Mobile beta
JSTOR Mobile beta works on iOS, Android, and BlackBerry devices. Other mobile phones may be supported, but not tested. BlackBerry users running a BlackBerry OS prior to 6.0 your features may be different and will be noted in the features descriptions where they do differ.
For users of older BlackBerry devices, you may not have Stylesheets or Javascript turned on. For the best experience, you should turn those features on in your browser settings.
- LexisNexis apps
The LexisNexis apps available in iTunes currently require either individual purchase through iTunes (eg, Butterworths Legal Dictionary), or an individual log-in to a pre-existing subscription (eg, CaseBase Case Citator).
Please note that there are no individual log-ins available for the Library subscriptions to LexisNexis products so our subscriptions may not be accessed via these apps
- MDConsult
For access, first register for a Personal Account via the
University of Sydney's subscription, using a desktop PC. Then using the web browser on your mobile device, go to MD Consult Mobile (http://m.mdconsult.com).
Login to MD Consult Mobile from your mobile browser using your new personal login.
Download the app from
iTunes - National Library of Medicine mobile
Note: Use our own PubMed4Hh URL below, for PubMed, for best access to PubMed
- Naxos Jazz app
- Naxos Music Library App
- NEJM This Week APP
Download for free from iTunes.
- PubMed for handhelds - USyd
- RSC Mobile App
Apps available for iOS and Android. Requires authentication via the University's wireless network.
- Scifinder Mobile
- Sciverse Scopus Alerts app
Set up a personal registration in the Library's subscription to Scopus, then use it with the app for Institutional Subscribers, available from:
Sciverse Mobile Applications -
Authentication help & FAQ NB- you can only have your login setup in one device at a time, or you won't be able to sign in. Delete it in settings in one device, if you wish to use another device.
- Sciverse ScienceDirect app
Set up a personal registration in the Library's subscription, then use it to authenticate in the free app for institutional subscribers available from:
Sciverse Mobile Applications -
Authentication help & FAQ NB - ensure you complete your personal registration and validate your email address before trying to authenticate.
- Springerlink ejournals
- StatRef Medical and Dental ebooks
Apps for iPhone, Android, and Blackberry.
Check our
Catalogue to see which titles are available via StatRef
- Taylor and Francis ejournals
- Unbound
Mobile interface for Medline (free)
- Web of Knowledge databases