Locating Library ResourcesIndigenous Film
This is the "Children's and Young Adult Literature" page of the "Children's and Young Adult Literature (Education)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Children's and Young Adult Literature (Education)   Tags: children's non-fiction, picture books  

Last Updated: May 25, 2016 URL: http://libguides.library.usyd.edu.au/literatureyoungadultschildren Print Guide RSS Updates

Children's and Young Adult Literature Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in your Library

The Curriculum Collection has many new books for reader's of all ages. The Curriculum resources collection is on Level 5 of Fisher south includes picture books, books and readers for beginning and young readers and many books for your adult readers, fiction & non-fiction. These are just some of  the the latest to arrive! Browse new titles added to the Curriculum resources collection.

Children's Book Council of Australia - Book of the Year Awards

You can find the Winners of the CBCA Book of the Year Awards in the Fisher Curriculum Collection, along with many of the titles on the Notables list.

Cover Art
The Protected - Claire Zorn
Call Number: A 823.92 Z88 J2 1
ISBN: 0702250198
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
Winner Older Readers

Cover Art
The Cleo Stories : The Necklace and the Present - Libby Gleeson and Freya Blackwood (illustrator)
Call Number: A 823.91 G555 J30 1
ISBN: 9781743315279
Publication Date: 2014
Winner Younger Readers

Cover Art
My Two Blankets - Freya Blackwood (text) and Irena Kobald (illustrator)
Call Number: A 823.92 K75 J1 1
ISBN: 9781921714764
Publication Date: 2014
Winner Picture Book

Cover Art
A - Z of Convicts in Van Diemen's Land - Simon Barnard
Call Number: 365.609944 20
ISBN: 9781922079343
Publication Date: 2014
Winner Eve Pownall Award for Information Books

Cover Art
Nona and Me - Clare Atkins
Call Number: A 823.92 A8731 J1 1
ISBN: 9781922231680
Publication Date: 2014
Honour Book Older Readers

Cover Art
The Minnow - Diana Sweeney
Call Number: A 823.92 S974 J1 1
ISBN: 9781922182012
Publication Date: 2015
Honour Book Older Readers

Cover Art
Two Wolves - Tristan Bancks
Call Number: A 823.92 B213 J3 1
ISBN: 9780857982032
Publication Date: 2014
Honour Book Younger Readers

Cover Art
Tea and Sugar Christmas - Jane Jolly and Robert Ingpen (illustrator)
Call Number: A 823.92 J75 J1 1
ISBN: 9780642278630
Publication Date: 2014
Honour Book Eve Pownall Award for Information Books

Cover Art
Audacity: Stories of Heroic Australians in Wartime - Carlie Walker
Call Number: 355.00994 41
ISBN: 9781877007934
Publication Date: 2014
Honour Book Eve Pownall Award for Information Books

Cover Art
Intruder - Bongers, Christine
Call Number: A 823.92 B713 J4 1
ISBN: 9780857983763
Publication Date: 2014
Shortlist Older Readers

Cover Art
Bleakboy and Hunter Stand out in the Rain - Steven Herrick
Call Number: A 823.92 B213 J3 1
ISBN: 9780702250163
Publication Date: 2015
Shortlist Younger readers

Cover Art
Pig the Pug - Aaron Blabey
Call Number: A 823.92 B627 J4 1
ISBN: 9781743624777
Publication Date: 2014
Shortlist Picture Book

Cover Art
Snail and Turtle are friends - King, Stephen Michael, author, illustrator.
Call Number: A 823.91 K542 J12 1
ISBN: 9781743620236
Publication Date: 2014
Shortlist Picture Book

 

Graphic Novels

 

Children's and Young Adult Literature Guide

Welcome to the University of Sydney Library's guide for Children's and Young Adult Literature.

The guide is designed to support students in Education programs who are researching or using children's and young adult literature in their teaching practice and research.

In this guide you will find information about Library material including books, journal articles and databases; as well as the many web based resources that discuss, analyse, inform or promote interest in children's literature and young adult's literature.

 

Fisher Curriculum Collection

Children's and young adult literature is an important part of Fisher Library's Curriculum Collection. The collection includes quality  fiction, non-fiction and picture book collections. There is also a growing collection of graphic novels. The  collection includes recently published material but also literature published for children and young adults since the early twentieth century.

The Fisher Library's Curriculum Collection is on level 5 of Fisher. It is a specialist collection of books, journals, realia (educational toys/models), posters and audiovisual materials for teachers and students; spanning early childhood through to Year 12.

To find materials in the Curriculum collection search the Library Catalogue and modify your search results to Fisher Curriculum.

 

Featured Book

Rules of Summer, written and illustrated by Shaun Tan, is available in the Fisher Curriculum collection, Level 5 Fisher south. 

Shaun Tan is an award winning artist, illustrator and author. In 2011 he was awarded Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, honouring his contribution to international children's literature. For more information on  Rules of Summer and his other books visit Shaun Tan's website. The website includes a Teacher's Guide to Rules of Summer and other information about his work. 

Check the Library catalogue for other books by Shaun Tan held in University of Sydney Library collections.

 

 

 

Profile box

Contact Your Librarian

Education & Social Work Librarian

Christine Tennent

christine.tennent@sydney.edu.au

Ph 02 93513257

Fisher Library F03, University of Sydney NSW 2006. Australia

 

Listopia from Goodreads/ Novelist

Goodreads Listopia:

Most popular lists

YA Booklists and Young Adult Booklists


Novelist Database

Requires registration. Freely available from Local Public Libraries and the State Library of New South Wales eResources

Enter Novelist Plus in the Find a database search box

 

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip