1. Bibliographic databases - search all relevant studies from a range of relevant databases
3. Grey literature - literature that is not formally published in sources such as books or journal articles
4. Handsearching - involves page-by-page examination of relevant journal issues, conference proceedings, relevant reports of trials
5. Citation indexes - track for possible and related literatures
Key databases that you will use when conducting a medical and health literature review.
CINAHL - A major resource for nursing and allied health literatures.
OT Seeker - A useful resource for finding systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy.
PEDro - A useful resource for rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
PsycINFO (1806-present) - The major database for psychlogy, provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines, including psychiatry, social sciences, business, health & medicine, law, and linguistics.
PsycBITE - Catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI).
SpeechBITE - Freely available catalogue of Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy across the scope of Speech Pathology practice.
SPORTDiscus - A major resource covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education and biomechanics
Trip Database - Health and medical search engine that simultaneously searches evidence based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and critically appraised topics and articles.
Sydney University Library
Cushing/Whitney Medical Library at Yale University - 11 video tutorials on systematic approaches to searching the health science literature.
Citation indexes used to identify studies for a review by checking references from source articles, to find more relevant literatures to the review.
Contains Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-, Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975. Identify key articles in a discipline and search by cited reference, (trace references that refer to a particular work or author).
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary database covering published material in the humanities and sciences. It also provides citation analysis of authors and subject areas.
Good for broad searches of scholarly literature. Also useful to find references which cite other academic articles.