Skip to main content

Curriculum areas: Science and Technology

Welcome

Welcome to the University of Sydney Library guide for  K-12 Science Education. This guide is designed to support students in  Education programs who require science resources for their teaching practice and research. This guide provides information on access to and the location Library material including books, key journals, educational toys and models available and for science teaching. This guide also brings together selected web based  resources for science teaching.

Curriculum Resources Collection

The Fisher Library's Curriculum Collection is a specialist collection of books, journals, realia (educational toys/models), posters and audiovisual materials for teachers and students; spanning early childhood through to Year 12.

Children's literature is an important part of the Curriculum Resources Collection. The collection includes quality and comprehensive fiction, non-fiction and picture book collections. There is alo a growing collection of graphic novels. The  collection includes recently published material but also literature published for children and young adults since the early twentieth century.

To find materials in the Curriculum Resources Collection search the Library Catalogue and modify your search results to limit to Fisher Curriculum.

Contact

Christine Tennent

christine.tennent@sydney.edu.au 

 

 

New resource from the CSIRO

The CSIRO has just announced permission for anyone to freely use, repost and transform the collection’s 4000+ high definition images and videos. The library represents more than six decades worth of environmental, industrial, agricultural and technological research images. This is a wonderful resouce for Teachers & students. Explore CSIRO Science Image now!

New in your Library

The Fisher Library's Curriculum Resources Collection includes many award winning books for children and young adults.The collection coverage of material relating to science includes fiction, non-fiction, textbooks and practical material for the classroom.

Science in Documentary and Film

Featured Database

Use the Database A+ Education to search for journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings and theses on your science education topic.

The A+ Education database indexes the Australian education literature and it also includes overseas content.

It is good for finding Australian information and it supplements the ERIC database, its American counterpart.

Science Museums

Science Organisations

Resources from Media Sites