Skip to main content

Children's and Young Adult Literature (Education): Researching Children's Literature

Finding articles using Library databases

The following Library Databases index the literature in education, search the following databases by keyword to find academic journal articles, book reviews, chapters from books and more....

Finding YA Literature and Picture Books in the Catalogue

The Fisher Curriculum collection includes most children's and young adult literature held by the Library. The collection is located on Level 5 of Fisher Library.  You can browse in person, or limit your keyword search to this collection in the Library Catalogue. The collection includes fiction popular and literary, poetry, non-fiction, picture books and a growing collection of graphic and manga books and novels. Big books are also available and these are located with posters. Both the Fisher and the Curriculum collection will also include many books that critically evaluate and discuss the books and authors you are researching.

You can browse the collection by the following call numbers.....

813.5 US authors of the twentieth century

813.6 US authors who started writing in the twenty-first century

823.9 Australian and British authors of the twentieth century (Australian authors have the prefix A before the call number and are filed separately)

823.92 Australian and British authors of the twenty-first century

821.08 Poetry (anthologies available at this location in Fisher Curriculum)

You can also search and browse the Library catalogue or CrossSearch using subject headings which specifically  identify children's and young adult literature. Some useful subject headings include:  

Children's Stories 

Readers (Primary)

Picture books for children

Young adult fiction

The following subject can be used to limit a topic to children's literature:

Juvenile fiction

You can use the catalogue's   or   options, (or start with an advanced search) to limit subjects to a specific collection or topic. 

Try the one of  following searches:

Search by keyword or subject for your topic e.g dragons

either browse the subject list and select Dragons - juvenile fiction 

or if you searched  by keyword, click on the modify option to limit by location curriculum or subject juvenile fiction.

 

Search by  the subject Children's stories click on the limit/sort options to further limit your search by keyword and/or location curriculum 

Click on  Children's literature to search for books on the topic of children's literature

   

 Use the MyLists function in the Library Catalogue to create a list of your favourite books and authors!

Finding teaching and learning resources for children's and young adult literature

Consult the Library catalogue to find teaching and learning resources for your students such as graphic novels, audiovisual materials such as DVDs, books and guides to criticism and interpretation.

The Library Databases (see box in column on left) will lead you to journal and magazine articles, books and more.

Search TeacherTube or YouTube for videos online, Enhance TV has teacher support documentation, The Australian Broadcasting Commission (ABC) website, Apps and Blogs. See also, video streaming databases in the box below..

Video Streaming Databases