Skip to main content

Government Documents - Australia: Opinion Poll Data- Australian

Trends in Public Opinion

Research databases for poll information

Australian Data Archive

Australian Data Archive (ADA) includes a significant collection of Opinion and News Poll data. This data is freely available to University of Sydney Staff and Students. Registration and Undertaking forms are available at: https://users.ada.edu.au/users/new

From the ADA Home page select the Social Science collection, then select catalogue from the menu bar. All collections within the Social Science collection will be displayed. Click on the plus sign beside polls to display all available poll data. Each poll includes information on sample and you can also browse and select variables. Some data can be viewed online but analysis of data requires registration and a login for information on data access.

An introduction to the Data Archive and a User Guide are available from the ADA website http://www.ada.edu.au/ada/user-guides

Factiva

Factiva's content search will allow you to  locate news media coverage "primarily based on the results of a survey, poll or questionnaire". This search may  help you locate or identify an opinion poll or survey on your research area. One you have selected Survey/opinion poll from the content options you can limit your search to a region or country, a topic, a news source or date or date range. Access Factiva via the Library's Databases and Electronic Resources Page

Print resources

Morgan gallup poll. Finding North Sydney : Roy Morgan Research Centre, 1973-1998 
Fisher Research 301.154 45

Now available online from Roy Morgan Research Morgan polls and  Morgan readership papers Australian and International selected years from1941 to current.

IPSOS Mackay report : exploring the Mind & Mood of Australia  
Storage  303.380994 7 

Australian opinion polls 1941-1990 : an index Melbourne : D.W. Thorpe in association with the National Centre for Australian Studies, 1993 
Fisher  016.30338 1  

Saulwick poll reprints 1990-91 compiled and produced for The Age and The Sydney Morning Herald by Irving Saulwick & Associates.
Fisher & Sorage 320.994063 2

Browse the lLibrary catalogue for more information on public opinion in Australia