Skip to main content

Government Documents - Australia: Media resources & releases

Media releases in the Library

Media and Press Releases

Media releases issued by a minister, member of parliament or a government department or agency provide access to information about government policy.There are published and online sources will help you locate information released to the media. They also supplement Hansards (Parliamentary debates) by providing texts of important speeches made outside parliament.

The news media (newspapers, radio, television and web news) provides access to many of the discussions and debates that surround government policy.  Media research will provide different perspectives on a policy area, from political to popular responses.

News and Media Databases

Capital monitor database

Capital Monitor provides access to policy and parliamentary documents  from Federal, State and Territory governments. This services monitors and provides access to legislative resources, policy newsletters, media relaeses and also indexes parliamentary documents. Most ducuments available in the database are full-text. Capital monitor is updated daily.

Media Releases in Capital Monitor - coverage varies but usually from 1996 onward

Commonwealth Parliament & Government -Press releases, transcripts, statements, from the Government, departments and agencies, the Opposition, minor parties, companies and special interest groups,

NSW and other States and Territories  transcripts, press statements NSW 1996- other states 1997, Northern Territory 2001 -

Download Tips for Media releases

Media sources from Government websites

Parlinfo search (Federal Parliament)

Parlinfo is the  official search service for the Australian Parliament. Parlinfo allows you to  limit a search to Media sources including Press Releases Newspaper Clippings and Radio and TV Access to the full news clipping service is not available for copyright reasons  

Australian Government Websites

Latest Media releases by Portfolio

Australian Government. News & Media website

Australia. House of Representatives. House news

News -New South Wales Government website

Access to the latest news and Premier's Media Releases and Ministers' Media Releases