Skip to main content

Finding Australian Government Reports: Parliamentary Papers in the Library Collection

Parliamentary Papers - Print (Commonwealth and New South Wales)

Federal Government Parliamentary Papers

These are documents which have been presented to parliament and ordered to be printed. They include annual reports of executive departments, reports of commissions, committees, and any other body required to report to parliament. The papers are numbered consecutively.

AUSTRALIA.  Parliament Parliamentary papers 1901+

Fisher Research  Government Documents Collection Level 9 G.AUS P

There are consolidated indexes 1901-1949 and 1950-1961, and separate sessional indexes from 1961+. One set of these indexes is shelved with the parliamentary papers, another set is in the Fisher Reference Collection: 328.9404/1. See also section 3.3.5: Indexes to Parliamentary Papers; and the Parliamentary Reports Index of papers held by the University of Sydney Library; and the listings published by the Australian Parliament.

New South Wales Parliamentary Papers

New South Wales. Parliament  Joint volumes of papers presented to the Legislative Council and the Legislative Assembly

Fisher Research Government Documents Collection Level 9  G.NSW  P  1904 - 1986/87/88  (bound volumes)

Fisher Audiovisual Level 3 Fisher Microform  MIC328.94404 3A 1986/87/88 -  (microfiche)

NOTE: - Recent paper copies of NSW papers are kept in the collection in the Government documents collection on Floor 9 of Fisher Library at G.NSW P and are filed in paper number order. There are current indexes kept with the papers, and these can be used to identify the paper number.

To find web versions of NSW parliamentary committee reports,  go to the Parliamentary Papers – NSW section of this Guide.
You can also use the Capital Monitor database to search for the web versions of NSW parliamentary committee papers.

Before 1904, New South Wales parliamentary papers were bound with the Votes and Proceedings and the Journals.

Consolidated
indexes are as follows:

New South Wales.  Parliament.  Legislative Assembly. Consolidated index of papers laid upon the table of the  Legislative Assembly with lists of petitions received.  1904-1971

Fisher Research Government Documents Collection Level 9  G.NSW IA

New South Wales.  Parliament.  Legislative Council. Consolidated Index to the minutes of the proceedings and printed papers of the New South Wales Legislative Council 1856-1954

Fisher Research Government Documents Collection Level 9  G.NSW IC

Fisher Reference 328.9994016 1

Online Indexes

Parliamentary Papers - Other States

 Parliamentary Papers - Other States and Territories

Queensland

Queensland.  Parliament. Parliamentary papers 1860-1901

Fisher Microform 382.94301 2 (microfilm)

[reels 1-86]     [Legis. Ass. Votes  & Proc. = reels 1-47;  Legis. Coun. Journals = reels 48-86]

G.QLD  P          (bound volumes)

1902- 49th Parliament 1st session 1998

Wanting: 20th Parliament 3rd session v.2(1917) ; 24th Parliament 1st session v.1(1926) ; 25th Parliament 2nd session v.1(1930) ; 27th Parliament 3rd session v.1(1937).

Note: Parliamentary Papers for Queensland form part of the series for Votes and Proceedings, and Journals.

To find web versions of Queensland parliamentary committee reports, use the Parliament of Queensland Committees site.

South Australia                                

South Australia.  Parliament. Proceedings of the parliament ... with copies of documents ordered to be printed.

Fisher Microform 328.942301 1 1st Parliament, 1st Session (1857/58)-16th Parliament, 3rd Session (1901) (microfilm)

Fisher Research Government Documents Level 9 G.SA P      1901-2003/04- Latest received:  2007/2008   (bound volumes)          

To find web versions of SA parliamentary committee reports, use the Parliament of South Australia Committees site.

Tasmania            

Tasmania.  Parliament. Legislative Council and House of Assembly Journals and  printed papers

Fisher Research Government Documents Level 9 G.TAS J Lib  1900/1+

42(1900)-45(1901),52(1905)-57(1907),72(1915/16),74(1916/17)-75(1916/17),82(1918),90(1920/2)-97(1924/25),100(1929/30),102(1930)-161(1959),163(1960)-164(1961),166(1962),168(1963),170(1964)-172(1965),174(1966/67)-183(1970),185(1971)-232 (1994/95)- Latest received:  2006 - 2007 v.254 no.Part two 2 of 2 H.A.                                        

Tasmania.  Parliament.  Legislative Council. Journals 1856-1883 (microfilm)

Fisher Library Microform 328.94601 3   

Tasmania.  Parliament.  House of Assembly. Journals.

Fisher Library Microform 328. 94601   1   1856-1883  (microfilm)

Tasmania.  Parliament. Journals and printed papers 1884-1902  (microfilm)

Fisher Library Microform   328.94601 2      

To find web versions of Tasmanian parliamentary committee reports, use the Parliament of Tasmania Committees site.

Victoria               

Victoria.  Parliament.  Legislative Assembly. Votes and Proceedings 1856/7-1900/1   (microfilm)

Fisher Library Microform 328.94504 1

Fisher Library Government Documents Level 9 G.VIC  AVP          1974/1976+   (bound volumes)

 

Victoria.  Parliament.  Legislative Council. Votes and Proceedings. 1852-1902  (microfilm)

Fisher Library Microform 328.94501 1     

To find web versions of Victorian parliamentary committee reports, use the Parliament of Victoria Committees site.

Western Australia

Western Australia.  Parliament Minutes and Votes and Proceedings ... with papers1890/1-1985          

Fisher Library Government Documents Level 9 G.WA    M        

Western Australia.  Parliament. Journals and printed papers    August 1985+  (microfiche)         

Fisher Library Microform  328.94105 1      

Consolidated indexes:  (Western Australia) (1890-1946) (1947-1956)

Fisher Reference 328.941 2

 For Parliamentary Papers available online go to Parliament of Western Australia. Tabled Papers.