Skip to main content

EndNote: Help & Tips

Find Full Text

Find Full Text tries to retrieve the fulltext of articles in your EndNote Library. It works better on-campus than off-campus, and it can't be used when you have EndNote in Online Search Mode as in the image below.

EndNote online mode

Configure Find Full Text:

Go to Edit > Preferences (on a Mac, EndNote > Preferences) and select Find Full Text.

  • OpenURL Path for easy copy & pasting:

            http://DD8GH5YX7K.search.serialssolutions.com

  • Authenticate with URL for easy copy & pasting:

            http://ezproxy.library.usyd.edu.au/login?url=%@‚Äč

If you are not working in the biomedical area, you can uncheck the PubMed Linkout box to speed up Find Full Text. If you are working on-campus, you can optionally leave the Authenticate with URL box blank.

Run Find Full Text

1. Select the References in your Library for which you want the full text.

2. Go to References > Find Full Text > Find Full Text....
If only the Authenticate... option is active, you are probably in Online Search Mode, and Find Full Text will not run.  Click the icon in the top-left corner of EndNote to switch to Local Library mode or Integrated mode. You may need to first copy your references from the temporary Online library to your local Library (  use either the References > Copy References to command to copy selected references to a new or existing library or the Copy to Local Library icon from the toolbar. When you close the temporary library, all references in it will be lost.)

3. If you are prompted to Login to eResources, do so. Click the Continue button, and Find Full Text will start.

 Full text will be retrieved for only some of the articles which you can access electronically. These factors will help:

  • Download your references from PubMed: If you have downloaded the references using the PubMed connection file, they will have links in the URL field which connect to the PubMed record on the web. EndNote can make use of the LinkOut links from PubMed to locate full text of articles.
  • Download your references from Web of Knowledge: If you have exported the references from the Web of Knowledge databases, they will have links in the URL field which connect to the Web of Knowledge record on the web. EndNote can make use of the Full Text links in Web of Knowledge to locate the full text of articles
  • Use your EndNote Web account: Set up an account in Web of Knowledge and use EndNote Web in conjunction with EndNote to aid in full text retrieval. Note that you should enter your EndNote Web username and password in the EndNote Preferences.
  • OpenURL: You must Enable OpenURL to use the Find Full Text function. The OpenURL Link command is likely to retrieve a higher proportion of articles than the Find Full Text command, but it can only be used for one article at a time, and you must manually save the retrieved PDF and attach it to the reference. To Enable OpenURL, go to Edit > Preferences > URLs & Links , and type http://DD8GH5YX7K.search.serialssolutions.com in the Open URL Arguments box.
  • Digital Object Identifier (DOI): If the record has a correct digital object identifier in the DOI field, EndNote can use that to locate full text of articles.
  • ISSN - an ISSN in your citation will also help.
  • More tips from EndNote

 4. Click to expand the Find Full Text heading in the EndNote left-hand menu, to see how many PDFs are being retrieved.

 

Using abbreviated journal names

In some disciplines, researchers use abbreviated forms of journal titles in their publications. EndNote handles this problem by allowing you to import term lists that store both the full titles of journals and the corresponding abbreviations. 

EndNote provides lists for several disciplines, including Bioscience, Economics, Humanities, Law & Medicine in the Terms Lists folder of the EndNote Program folder on the C: drive. For more current journal terms lists go to the UQ website: https://www.library.uq.edu.au/faqs/endnote/journal_terms.html and save the lists to your computer or USB.

 

Import a term list into Endnote:

1.     Go to Tools > Open Term Lists > Journals Term List

2.     Click on the Lists tab and make sure the Journals list is selected

3.     Click on Delete List.. to remove the existing list (recommended)

4.     Click on Create List, call the list Journals and tick the Journal List box

5.     Click on Import List and choose the appropriate subject list

a.     Can’t see the lists? Lists are usually stored here: C:\\Programs Files \ Endnote \ Terms Lists

b.    Alternatively UQ have produced several more current journal term lists for download: https://www.library.uq.edu.au/faqs/endnote/journal_terms.html (works for Mac and PC)

6.     Repeat step 5 for as many subject lists as required

7.     Your list will be imported. Click on the Terms tab to view the lists

Tip: .This import process must be done for each Library that you want to use these terms.

 

Use journal terms list abbreviations with your Endnote Output Style:

·         Go to Edit > Output Styles > Open Style Manager

·         Find and double click on your style from the list

·         Click on Journal Names heading in the left hand panel

·         Choose the option that suits you best (Abbreviations 1, 2, 3 refer to the form of abbreviation listed in the columns in the Terms tab in the Term lists window if you are not sure)

Sharing EndNote Library attachments with others

Due to the variety of copyright and licensing restrictions that can apply to the redistribution of published material, it can be difficult to determine whether or not each individual attachment in an EndNote library can be shared with others. For this reason the library advices that the safest course of action for you is not to share or distribute EndNote Libraries containing attachments with someone from another institution which does not subscribe to the same databases.

You are still able to share your EndNote Libraries without attachments with collaborators outside the University (see below instructions). You may also talk to your Academic Liaison Librarian.

 

How to save an EndNote Library without attachments:

  • Open your EndNote library
  • Click on File then choose Compressed Library
  • When the compressed library window opens choose the Without File Attachments option along with any other settings you wish
  • Save the compressed version of the library to your chosen drive
  • If you need to send the compressed EndNote Library via e-mail, attach it as you would any other file

If you are upgrading from a previous version of EndNote, it is advisable to back up your libraries, any modified output styles, and uninstall the old version of EndNote prior to installing the new version.

Usage problems

  • Corporate Authors not displaying properly? Place a single comma after the name.
  • Field codes showing? Press ALT F9.
  • Is your bibliographic style "wrong" or "messed up"? Try reformatting your document (Update Citations and Bibliography) from the EndNote Toolbar.
  • Other problems? Contact your Academic Liaison Librarian.

Installation problems - PC

  • No EndNote toolbar? Thomson Scientific have some instructions for solving problems with the EndNote toolbar and various versions of Word available here.
  • Installing the latest patch can solve many randomly occuring problems, such as the toolbar disappearing after being repaired.

Installation problems - Mac

Most Mac EndNote problems are readily solved by ensuring that the current patches for your version of Word (2004 or 2008) are installed. You can access these patches from this website.

You can check your Word processor compatibility with EndNote on a MAC here.

Want to import from BibTex?

Want to import a reference from a BibTex source (such as the Audio Engineering Society)? This page has all you need to know!