Skip to main content

Media and Communications: Journalist's Toolkit

  Country Information/ Fact finders

Speeches

  Where is ....

Maps & Place finders

Resources for Interviews

Interviews will help give your articles a personal voice.The websites of organizations and associations; directories and Biographical sources will help you locate:

·     organisations and the people who work in them

·     background and biographical information

Biographical Information

Who's who in Australia [online] Melbourne, Vic. : Crown Content 

Find background information of a person you are going to interview! (The Library hold Who's who from a range of countires)

Australian Dictionary of Biography - Canberra : Australian National University, 2006-

ipl.2 Directory of Biographical sources - Internet Public Library

Interviews

Directories for organizations and associations will help you locate the people who represent them.

Margaret Gee’s Australian Media Guide online Profiles Australia's media outlets, includes television and radio stations, newspapers, magazines, newsletters and press agencies, parliamentary press gallery, multicultural press and representatives of overseas press.

Directory of Australian Associations

Directory of Non-Profit and Community Organisations (Australia) Useful for locating opinions and information from a wide range of Australian organisations

Black Book Directory -lists Indigenous people and organisations working in the arts, media and cultural industries

Australian Local Government Association: Source for local news and events

@Directory.gov.au Australian Government Directory - members of parliament, government Departments .... (see also the Government press releases section of this Guide)

Experts close by!

Find an expert - source for potential interviews

University of Sydney Find an expert - other Australian Universities provide similar services

U.S. Studies Centre at the University of Sydney, experts