Skip to main content

Chinese / Japanese / Korean Studies: Chinese Studies

Find information about resources relating to Chinese, Japanese and Korean language and culture.

eResources in Chinese language

Chinese-English dictionaries (英汉, 汉英电子词典)

Pleco Chinese Dictionary (free app to look up Chinese words and their meaning)

Major Chinese Language Journal Database

CAJ: China Academic Journal fulltext database (中国期刊全文数据库), Arts/Humanities/History/Archeaology subseries (1994-present)

The Library has only 1 concurrent user licence. It is important to click log out or 退出 after each use to enable other users to login. Please select PDF format to view full-text articles if using library Public Terminals.

The CAJ F sub-series has over 520 Chinese language journals published in China in the areas of Art and Art theory, Literature, History, Philosophy, Archaeology, Film/Music studies and Religion.

Finding other relevant databases

From the Library's homepage: https://library.sydney.edu.au/

  • Select Databases.

  • Add your language in the Quick Search box e.g. Chin* to find China and Chinese related databases, Korea* to find Korea and Korean related databases, Japan* to find Japan and Japanese related databases.

  • You can also search by Subject or if you know the database title, find it via the A-Z menu.

Citing in Chicago, MLA or APA style?

The Yale University Library provides a quick guide to citing Chinese, Japanese and Korean sources with examples in Chicago, MLA and APA. Click to view guide.