Skip to main content

Statistics - Australian: Databases & Data Archives -International

Statistics and Census Data Australia and selected International and country sources

Data Archives

Data archives may store both current and historical data which is important for many types of research. Many datasets are also retained for regulatory compliance. Most data archives are indexed and searchable. Increasingly data archives provide access to options which allow researchers to graph, map and visualise data in many different ways.

ICPSR

Inter-University Symposium for Political and Social Research (ICSPR)

                Click on Logo to go to the ICPSR website

The University of Sydney membership to ACSPRI provides access to the resources of  the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) at the University of Michigan. 

The ICSPR archive is a large and significan collection of survey and historical data.

 

Resources available from ICPSR

Data sets and Surveys - include Aging, Criminal Justice, Demographic data, Childcare & early Education, Health and Mental Health, Instructional data, Race and Ethnicity, Terrorism.

Bibliography of Data-Related Literature -Searchable bibliography of scholarship relating to quantitative research in the Social Sciences. Covers the years 1962 onward.

Key International Databases

Featured Resources

World Development Indicators - World Bank

Freely available database of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources by the World Bank. Includes current and times series data. WDI provides access to  accurate global development data. Data estimates are available at national, regional and global levels. WDI is part of the World Bank Databank. Data can be visualised, and you can create tables, charts, and maps. To learn more take the Databank tutorial.