Skip to main content

Statistics - Australian: Australian SEIFA Data

Statistics and Census Data Australia and selected International and country sources

xxx

Socio-Economic Data for Areas

 

SEIFA Data:

enables researchers to investigate the socio-economic well-being of Australian communities and identify areas of advantage and disadvantage.

SEIFA indexes were first produced in 1990 (using 1986 Census data). Indexes have subsequently been produced in 1994 (1991 Census), 1998 (1996 Census), 2003 (2001 Census) and 2008 (2006 Census). The indexes from 1986 onwards are available from the ABS website.

SEIFA data based on the 2011 census is available via the ABS TableBuilder product, this allows mapping of SEIFA data.

Access data via the ABS SEIFA entry page

There are  four indexes:                                                                

Index of Relative Socio-Economic Disadvantage,

Index of Relative Socio-Economic Advantage/Disadvantage,

Index of Economic Resources, and

Index of Education and Occupation

Each index is based on combinations of different census variables and data from the National Health Survey. SEIFA indexes are widely used in social research. High scores on the index indicate greater advantage/education levels/economic resources.

Indexes are avaiable for the following geographies

  • Collection District (CD)
  • Statistical Local Area (SLA)
  • Local Government Area (LGA)
  • Postal Area (POA); and
  • State Suburb (SSC)

Further Information and help

ABS provides published papers on SEIFA data

An Information Paper provides basic background information of this data, see Technical and Research papers for detailed information on methodoloies and issues relating to the data.