Skip to main content

Statistics - Australian: Census Data

Statistics and Census Data Australia and selected International and country sources

Latest Census Data release...

The 2016 Census

The most recent Census of Population and Housing was conducted on 9 August 2016. This was Australia's seventeenth national Census, adding to over 100 years of national Census taking in Australia. The results of the 2016 Census is available through a wide range of products and services designed to make it easy for users to access the data they need. Most data from the 2016 Census is free of charge and available from the ABS Website.

The next Australian Census will be in 2021

What is the Census?

Held every 5 years, the ABS Census is a compulsory survey that counts close to 10 million households and approximately 24 million people. Census questions range from marriage status, family size and occupation, to languages spoken, country of birth and ancestry. The most recent Census was conducted in August 2016. The data is based on geography and is used to inform government policies and planning.

Which Census product is best for you?

Search the Census QuickStats for a summary; or Community Profiles for more detailed excel tables for your chosen geographic area. There are a range of different geographies to choose from for a given area.

*More advanced users may want to register for Table Builder or use the Data Packs.

QuickStats - Census

QuickStats makes high level, at a glance Census data available for most areas, from small areas to state, territory and Australia level.

Data presented is based on place of usual residence (that is, where people usually live, rather than where they were counted on Census Night), and are grouped by:

  • Persons - age, education, language, ancestry, religion and employment of people in the selected area.
  • Families - including family composition, single parent families and family income in the selected area.
  • Dwellings - including the structure and type of dwellings, number of bedrooms, household income, mortgage and rent payments, and number of registered vehicles in the selected area.

 

ABS QuickStats for Census data search tools include: 

Search Country of Birth QuickStats - enter country of birth 

Tutorial on how to use ABS Quickstats 

If you wish to find Quickstats by typing in a street address or searching on a map, use the Advanced Search function.

Community Profiles - Census

Community Profiles provide detailed excel tables of Census data for your chosen geographic area that you can download from the ABS website.

Search Community Profiles on the Australian Bureau of Statistics site: 

  • Type in the place name and select from the geographic locations provided 
  • If you wish to find Community Profiles by typing in a street address or searching on a map, use the Advanced Search function.

TableBuilder

TableBuilder is an online statistical research tool that allow you to create your own tables, charts, graphs and maps from Australian Census Data.

TableBuilder allows you to:

  • create your own tables using a range of census topics including- age & population, birthplace & ethnicity, children, carers, culture & language, disability, education & qualifications, family relationships, housing, income, Indigenous population, internet & computer use, migration, transport, religion, occupation and unpaid work.
  • cross-tabulate across a number of broad topic areas, & between classifications listed within each topic area.
  • create tables and maps, graph census variables for ABS geographic areas. Data is available for areas as small as a Collection District (approximately 225 households) or as large as an entire state, section of a state or all of Australia.
  • Tables can be exported in either CSV or Excel format. Maps and Graphs can be exported in either PDF or PNG format

Guest Access: TableBuilder

Register for full Access: TableBuilder Registration Form

Login page for full Access: TableBuilder Basic & Pro

ABS.Stat

About ABS.Stat "ABS.Stat Beta is an interactive free online tool that presents data in a searchable, flexible and dynamic way". It allows you to search and discover ABS statistics. Query, view and download data metadata provided for datasets; export data in a range of formats including Excel and CSV as well as SDMX.

Making Sense of the Census

ABS Census Geography explained

Geography Portal on the ABS Website Did you know that the most common locality name in Australia is Springfield? Find out this and more about ABS statistical geography via this new section of the ABS website!

Australian Statistical Geography Standard Informtion about ASGS the statistical geography that  replaced the Australian Standard Geographical Classification (ASGC) in July 2011 and used in for the first time in the 2011 census is available from the ABS website.

History of the Census in Australia

History of the Australian Census of Population and Housing
This article looks at the past 100 years of Australian Census history, from the first Commonwealth Census held in 1911.

Colonial musters and censuses
This article traces the early history of censuses in Australia, from 1788 to 1901.

One hundred years of working on the Census
This article focuses on the history of Census collectors and other Census workers.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and the Census of Population and Housing after the 1967 Referendum
This article provides a brief overview of some of the changes in the way Census data about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples have been collected.

Australian Data Archive - for historical census data

The Australian Data Archive (ADA)

The Australian Data Archive (ADA) is a consortium of leading national Australian universities, managed by the Australian National University. 

ADA was established at the ANU in1981 to provide a national service for the collection and preservation of computer readable data relating to social,political and economic affairs and to make these data available for further analysis.

ADA provides access to ABS data tables from the 1966, 1971, 1976, 1981, 1986 and 1991 censuses for registered users. User guides are available on the ADA website.

Data is freely available for registered users. Current staff and students from the University of Sydney may register with ADA in order to view and download data for analysis.

To access the archives and register, go to the ADA website

Researchers use NESSTAR to analyse the data.