Skip to main content

Theatre and Performance Studies: Home

Key Resources for Theatre and Performance Studies

Fisher Library contains most of the material you will need but you are welcome to use all of the University of Sydney Libraries.

Other relevant Subject Guides include: Art History & Theory; Contemporary Art & DesignMuseum Studies.

 
DATABASES:
 
  • IIPA : International Index to Performing Arts Full Text (1864-present)  
    References, with some full text, to journal articles, chapters and reviews on nearly all aspects of the performing arts, from scholarly studies to snapshots of popular culture.
  • International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text via Ebsco
    Comprehensive and authoritative international scholarship on all aspects of theatre and performance.
  • Project Muse  
    Full text peer-reviewed humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers. Includes the "Theatre Journal" and "TDR: The Drama Review".
  • ARTbibliographies Modern: ABM now via Proquest (1974-present)  
    References to journal articles, chapters and reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, including performance art. 
  • Drama Online
    A drama resource, with full-text access to a large number of key plays, plus background and contextual works on playwrights, genres, acting, stage craft, and more.
  • Ausstage 
    Freely available gateway to the Performing Arts in Australia, including a directory of people, organisations, theatre productsions and events.
  • AEM : Arts and Entertainment Management via Informit Online (1982-2000)  
    References to journal articles, chapters and reports on arts and entertainment management. 
  • Australia Dancing 
    Freely available site providing access to both current and historical information about dance in Australia.
  • Google Scholar 
    Google Scholar provides direct links to academic papers on the web, as well as some journal articles which may be subscribed to by the University of Sydney. Also useful for links to references which cite other academic articles.

Quick Links

Subject Guide