Skip to main content

Education & Curriculum Studies: Belonging- EDSE4027

Belonging

This Guide is designed for pre-service education students undertaking Teaching English units of study. The Area of Study- Belonging is a sample research module.

Fisher Library Collections include many resources relevant to the concept of belonging. The Fisher curriculum collection holds all required texts and many additional resources that are relevant to the Belonging area of study. The Fisher collection is also an important resource for many text types novels, non-fiction and film that may be used as additional stories. Both collections include and critical works that analyse and discuss works relevant to the many contexts and notions of  belonging, identity, place, communities and immigration. 

Research strategies

Think about and analyse terms, subjects and ideas that will help you locate additional texts and critical material on this Area of study

   ..........belonging, place or places, migration, identity, groups and communities, acceptance, relationships... 

Explore the Curriculum collection use the Library advanced search and  try  a keyword search on belonging and limit to this curriculum collection 

Try the Library CrossSearch to find articles and books that critically analyse or discuss your topic

Use the curriculum web  resources in this guide to locate related texts and other resources for your teaching practice

Find newspaper articles and stories in the Factiva or TVNews databases

Learn more about research by using the University of Sydney Library Information Skills modules 

 

Curriculum resources

The following resources are from New South Wales Government websites including the Board of Studies, the NSW Curriculum and Learning Innovation Centre, New South Wales Government School Libraries and Information Literacy initiatives and the resources of other Universities, State and Public Libraries.

Useful Journals

The following journals include articles that are specifically related to the English syllabus. Some of which are published by the Library Services Division the NSW Department of Education and various associations including the English Teachers Association (New South Wales).

Featured Resources from Museums

The web offers many opportunites for locating interesting text types including online exhibitions and multimedia websites.  

 

ACMI's website has a Shaun Tan Video Showcase  

 

and a Shaun Tan Education Resource for The Lost Thing

 

Immigration Museum (Melbourne) Exhibition: Yours, Mine, Ours  This exhibition includes many online resources including videos, interviews, images and stories.

 

Databases

AUSTLIT & Black Words

AUSTLIT is the Australian Literature Gateway database. It references Australian literature published in both print and electronic sources. The database includes both creative and critical Australian literature and references the work of many Indigenous writers in a subset called Black words. Use the advanced search feature to scope your search to Black Words if required.

A+ Education

A+ Education is an indexing and full text database that provides access to information on all aspects of Australian education with coverage from 1978 onwards.

MLA Modern Languages Association International Bibliography

The Modern Languages Association International Bibliography indexes scholarly works on literature, literary theory and criticism, genres, linguistics and folklore, in English, French, German, Italian and other languages.

JSTOR

Full-text of major academic journals and scholarly literature from around the world. The last five years are not available in this database.

Project Muse

Full text journal database useful for multidisciplinary research in arts, social sciences and humanities.

Novelist Plus (SLNSW)

Novelist is available at the State Library of NSW and many public Libraries.  NoveList includes NoveList K-8 which is a reading resource that teachers and students can use to locate fiction and non-fiction within many different genres. NoveList Plus K-8 also includes Recommended Reads, feature articles, reading lists and curriculum driven material. To access enter Novelist Plus in the Find a database search box